Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Quilt query

Blog Entries

Quilt query

Hi everyone, I appreciate all your help since I have been on this forum, but now I have been told that when you quilt, you should always, yes always stitch all over the quilt, not just in the ditch, not just around characters etc, but all over it, like a jigsaw puzzle. Is this correct, if so I have been doing it all wrong,

Idle Di

I am far from an expert like many on this board, but I personally like stitch in the ditch. I am not competent enough to do the fancy stuff! Do what pleases you.

You can quilt it any way you like, as long as you check the guidelines on the batting you are using and keep the stitches within that range.

Blog Entries
    the amount of quilting is dictated by the batting reqirements... check the package for the minimum distance of quilting. any more than that is quilter's choice
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

Banned
    I never listen to what I'm told........

The quilting is your decision. Sounds like you've been found by a Know It All. Just smile and then proceed to do what you want!
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/sewbizgirl
    Boom 20 Album of Blocks I made to swap https://www.quiltingboard.com/member...bums19942.html
    "The reward of a thing well done is having done it." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson

Blog Entries
    Oh thank you, I was just worried that I was not 'doing it right'

Idle Di