Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: quilting for free ( when they want to pay)

Blog Entries
    I am having a wee bit of a problem..I have some neighbors that we are close too..One of them had a major by pass heart procedure..The other is her daughter..Well, they want me to make them a quilt, which I do not mind doing but the problem is they want to pay me for it..Which I do not want..If they do not pay, they do not want me to do it..I am a beginner quilter ( only made 2 quilts so far..am working on 2 more) and I know that my sewing capabilities are not that good..I make mistakes and lots of them..I told them that if they bought the material that would take care of any payments but no..They do not want to do that..They want to pay me ( probably a couple of hundred dollars)..What I am thinking is that I will make them a lap top quilt and just give it to them as a gift) but knowing them they are still going to try and pay me..How do I give them quilts without them trying to give me money?

I am not sure why you won't accept payment, but that is none of my business. I suggest you accept the payment and use it towards fabric for another charity quilt. Otherwise, maybe ask them to get you a gift card to your LQS? Maybe ask them to barter... perhaps they could make you dinner for however many nights it takes you to construct the quilt? Good luck ~ Pat

i had this problem with a close friend and regardless of what i said or wanted she insisted on paying me.

i finally got around it in a very sneaky way and she still jokes with me about it to this day (its been 5 years).

i told her to pay me with a check and i just never deposited it and therefore never really got paid for making the quilt.