Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilting Machine Little Gracie. >

Quilting Machine Little Gracie.

Quilting Machine Little Gracie.

Old 09-17-2010, 07:35 PM

I am wondering about the little gracie.Do you have to buy a bunch of different items for it?Or does it all come together? Also do you have to guide the light for the pattern or does it go by itself?

It seems to me every time I get interested in something you have to purchase a zillion other items along with it.

I am new to quilting and like to make baby quilts and wall hangings and lap covers and etc. I am trying to learn FMQ. But man that is hard. I guess I will figure out something one of these days. Thanks ladies and gents for any info you may have for me. :D :thumbup:
Old 09-18-2010, 06:29 AM

The little Gracie is a frame. I have the Grace GMQ, ( a different frame made by the Grace company)

The frame itself does not have a laser light unless you purchase it. And then, you have to manually move the machine over the pattern.

Also, you have to buy at least a mid-arm machine to go on it, in order for it to be effective. I bought the package I have, which is a GMQ frame, the stitch regulator and a Juki 98Q for about $2200. I do not have the laser light for pantographs. I just use my own free motion designs, as I am still learning too. I recently bought a couple of stencils and pounce pads but have not tried them yet.

Berta- You might see if there is anyone near you who has a similar set up or a shop in your area with one set up, that can give you an idea of what you might need. I find FMQ so much easier with the frame- I sucked at it using just my machine, though I did practice for a couple of years before upgrading. If you are new to quilting, make sure this is what you want, because it is a big investment.

Good luck.
Old 09-18-2010, 08:44 AM
Power Poster