Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Is quilting really supposed to be "Quick and Easy"? >

Is quilting really supposed to be "Quick and Easy"?

Is quilting really supposed to be "Quick and Easy"?

Old 07-15-2018, 08:02 AM

Default Is quilting really supposed to be "Quick and Easy"?

I see countless ads for patterns described as "quick" or "easy" and I realize that some patterns are easier to cut and piece than others. But, for me, those adjectives don't exactly match what I feel is more of a slow, deliberate process and an art. Or maybe it's me, but I've been piecing quilts for more than 20 years, and although I've learned techniques that have improved my skills, I still don't really find anything quick and easy about it (but I love doing it!). I still enjoy the process of choosing fabrics, and searching for patterns, but sometimes it seems that the faster I try to go, the slower it actually Does go!!

Any opinions/comments?

Thanks.

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 07-15-2018 at 08:28 AM. Reason: remove shouting/all caps
Old 07-15-2018, 08:32 AM

For me, I don't care if is a "quick" or "easy" pattern. If I want to do a pattern I just do it. Like you, I love all of the process of quilting. I take my time and enjoy the process. The more enjoyment I get from making a quilt, I fell that I do a better job. I also have been quilting for more then 20 years.
Old 07-15-2018, 08:37 AM

For me, "quick and easy" AKA jelly roll or charm square patterns don't interest me. I'm drawn to pinwheels, HST, fading colors from one block to another, applique and almost anything that is done on point. But those are also the techniques that are challenging for me. My color choices are not necessarily the best and I have my daughters double check that for me. I too have learned new techniques to make what ever pattern I choose easier to cut and piece.