Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilting on a Regular Home Sewing Machine >

Quilting on a Regular Home Sewing Machine

Quilting on a Regular Home Sewing Machine

Old 03-14-2023, 06:59 PM

Default Quilting on a Regular Home Sewing Machine

I’m new to quilting, but I’d like to make a bed quilt at some point (right now I’m learning on bags). Is it possible to do that with a regular home sewing machine? I don’t have a long arm machine. I’m interested in quilting with free motion designs.
Old 03-14-2023, 07:57 PM

Yes, it is possible. I have a Juki 2200 QVP Mini which is a straight stitch only machine with a large throat. I quilt all my own quilts on it. You don't have to have a longarm to quilt your own quilts. Before I had the Juki, I did a king size quilt on my old Bernina with a tiny throat space. I used Marti Mitchell's Quilting in Sections technique to make it more manageable.
Old 03-15-2023, 05:58 AM

There are lots of YouTube videos that show quilting on a domestic machine, that is how I learned. Try Angela Walters, Leah Day and Natalie Bonner and remember it takes lots of practice, practice and more practice and doodling designs on paper before trying to quilt is best way to learn designs so doodle, doodle and doodle some more.
Old 03-15-2023, 06:09 AM

Originally Posted by Three Dog Night View Post
There are lots of YouTube videos that show quilting on a domestic machine, that is how I learned. Try Angela Walters, Leah Day and Natalie Bonner and remember it takes lots of practice, practice and more practice and doodling designs on paper before trying to quilt is best way to learn designs so doodle, doodle and doodle some more.
What she said ^^^^^^^^^^^^
Old 03-15-2023, 06:51 AM
Power Poster