Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Servicing..? >

Servicing..?

Servicing..?

Old 07-08-2015, 12:04 PM

Default Servicing..?

So, I decided my machine (a Husqvarna Viking) should really have a service. I will confess now that I got it new more than 20 years ago, but it has never been serviced. In my defence, it has also been hardly used, until this year, when I discovered quilting, but now that I have just finished my first quilt (and started piecing the second, and planning the third and fourth, and...), it seemed time... My local store has quoted me 'oh about 2-3 weeks' for a 'summer special clean and oil' (ie not actually a full service, but since it is still running beautifully, I don't think it really needs more than an inspection, clean and oil: they would notify me, they said, if anything was spotted amiss). They aren't a dealer for my brand.

As a complete novice at this, I am asking you lovely, knowledgeable people - is this normal? I don't think I could manage now without my machine for a week, let alone 2-3 (I don't have a spare, nor do I have funds for one), but I realise that not servicing is asking for trouble. I've tried enquiring elsewhere, but seem to be hitting a blank (we have moved far, far from the original, lovely store where I bought my machine).

How long does a service usually take? And how important is finding a dealer specific to my brand?
Old 07-08-2015, 12:17 PM