Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Sewing lessons?

Banned
    I am a complete novice as it comes to the sew machine. Yes, I tied 1 quilt, but that is about all I can do. :oops:
    Where is the best place to learn how to sew well? I would like to be able to do it professionally sometime in the very far future... So, where?
    I do not live near a joannes, I'm out in the country, and what would be a fair price to pay per hour or so?
    Thank you so much
    Emily

Do you have any adult education programs in your area? I know the ones here using have sewing classes & they are usually very reasonably priced too. My quilt class is thru' adult ed & it's free :D

You may try asking the local home economic teacher, they sometime will do adult classes or bring someone in.

Some sewing machine dealers will know people to teach you but they usually charge out the nose!!

Try adult education. For a nominal fee, they have night classes at a local high school here. Good Luck!!

Check with your county cooperative extension office, usually listed in the blue pages. I've always found classes through them that are well presented and very cheap to take, and if they don't , they would have some local resources for you.

There are some great books out there too. And video tutorials on the web. I'm sure it's kind of hard to get a class when you're out in the beautiful country. And the best advice I ever received...practice, practice, practice! And of course this board is filled with experts. All you have to do is ask away!

Banned
    Well, the thing is, :roll: , I'm not an adult, I'm 13.....

Our own ShellyQ has the most wonderful tutorials right here on this board. Here's the first one: http://www.quiltingboard.com/posts/list/6460.page