Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
should I purchase an older Babylock serger? >

should I purchase an older Babylock serger?

should I purchase an older Babylock serger?

Old 07-13-2013, 10:34 AM

Default should I purchase an older Babylock serger?

I have an opportunity to purchase a serger. I've never used one before. It is a 4 thread Babylock BL4-736DF with a differential. Is this too old for a beginner serger to use? Is it worth having a sewing machine repair person look it over? What kind of $$ is it worth in todays market, presuming that it is in good working order? I have looked on the internet and there is a manual available but there are no reviews of the machine? What was it worth when it was new? Thanks in advance for any advice.
Old 07-13-2013, 11:08 AM

I wouldnt even consider it if it doesnt have jet air threading
Old 07-13-2013, 12:17 PM
Power Poster

What will you use it for? Sergers are great for home dec (such as curtains) and clothing (especially children's knit clothing) and doll clothes. If you don't intend to use it for clothing of some kind, I'm not sure it's worth having one.

If I were going to buy a new serger, I would definitely buy jet air threading but that does cost a lot of $$$.

I found one of these sergers sold on eBay for $85:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/BABY-LOCK-BA...item3cd1fc3818
Old 07-13-2013, 02:35 PM