Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: SID before FMQ

I'm a self taught newish quilter. I took a machine quilting class where we worked on lots of quilt sandwiches but didn't talk about working on an actual quilt. I just read on a blog about STD to stabilize a quilt before FMQ. Do most of you do that? What are the benefits? How much STD do you do?

Sometimes. Occasionally I will do a wavy or some other "fancy" stitch along the blocks of the quilt and then go back and FMQ where I want that.
    When I FMQ with an all over meander, I don't, because I was not planning any STD in the first place.

Thread title made me laugh...

Depends on the quilting plan - if it includes ditch stitching then I do that first, otherwise, no.

I usually do meandering so I don't use any STD.

Me too! :D

I do like to sew from the middle of the quilt out to the sides in at least 4 directions. I t really helps me keep a smoother top for the FMQ

Blog Entries
    Depending on what I'm doing for a pattern, yes, sometimes I will stitch in the ditch first. When I don't want to stitch in the ditch, but want to stabilize the quilt before doing my quilting, I will machine baste it with water soluble thread. Once it's done, I wash it and my temporary basting washes away. Either way, I can start anywhere I want to quilt and it won't shift around.

The water soluble thread is more expensive, but you use so little, that a spool can baste several quilts. For me, the cost is worth the convenience.

Quote Originally Posted by katier825