Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: steel wool as a needle sharpener

Banned
    Blog Entries
    someone posted a Tute on here about making a needle sharpener for you machine needles. It is nothing more than a piece of steel wool placed inside of a fabric pouch and you sew through it to sharpen your needles...

however..using steel wool, even encased in fabric, on your machine is not a wise choice. Steel wool makes tiny grains of steel when it is broken down...those can cut through that fabric and end up in your bobbin case/race causing damage to the machine! Even if you can't you see them, they are there!

SO, instead of risking damage to your machine, you can do what I have been doing for 40 years....take the lid from an old spray can...then put in a clean/new SOS pad..cover with a piece of fabric all tucked into the cap...now you can take your pins and needles and stab the into the SOS pad..this keeps them clean and sharp the way the old strawberry emerys do.(though they don't have as much emery in them any more more ruby & diamond dust now)

i would have also been worried about steel wool getting in my machine also.

Blog Entries
    Great information. Thank you for sharing.

Blog Entries
    Thanks for the tip:)

Blog Entries
    thanks for that warning!

Blog Entries
    great idea!

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by jaciqltznok
    someone posted a Tute on here about making a needle sharpener for you machine needles. It is nothing more than a piece of steel wool placed inside of a fabric pouch and you sew through it to sharpen your needles...