Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Straighten Up And Fly Right

Straighten Up And Fly Right

I love Flying Geese, but I am not too good with triangles. I thought I would do a test. It came out okay, but some points are cut off and others are too far from each other.

Also, I'm doing something wrong with the first three pieces. Even though I am careful with the sewing, they seem to be over-lapping wrong. See where the scissors are pointing? I actually had to cut the fabric to get it to pull out all the way. This would look better if I could press it, but I have to turn off the heat in order to turn on the iron. Sorry.

But for a first try, what do you think? (forgive the cheapo Christmas fabric, but I did not want to use my good stuff on an experiment.)
    Attached Images Attached Images

Life is not a movie. No one is going to yell "CUT" when you make a mistake. - Anne L. Fulton

I am from the South....39 miles south of Boston.

Blog Entries
    You have to press the triangles as you add them. If you don't, you get the situation you illustrate in your first photo. Sew triangle, flip & press, sew second triangle. They look good. THe Christmas fabric is very cute!
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

Power Poster
    after sewing the first ivory triangle on - open it out and press it flat.

then sew the second ivory triangle on.

check some youtube videos - but i think that is where the problem is.

Oh, thank you Princess and Bear! I had not thought of that. Makes all the difference in the world.
    Life is not a movie. No one is going to yell "CUT" when you make a mistake. - Anne L. Fulton