Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Tools for tracing/transfer quilting patterns >

Tools for tracing/transfer quilting patterns

Tools for tracing/transfer quilting patterns

Old 07-18-2011, 02:28 PM

As a newbie, I'm finishing the patchwork portion of my first project. Now I'm wondering the best way of tracing a quilting pattern onto your quilt top. I thought I'd do this first one by hand, but am unsure of best type of tracing pen, or what is best tool for this.

Appreciate any help - thanks!
Old 07-18-2011, 02:29 PM

I like to use Golden threads quilting paper, then it's as simple as tracing the design onto the thin paper and pinning it to your quilt top and sewing along the lines!
Old 07-18-2011, 02:56 PM

I have been very happy, using the Frixion pen by Pilot, for tracing the quilting pattern from my stencils. Touch it with a hot iron, and like magic, the marks disappear. Then, I wash and dry the finished quilt.
Old 07-18-2011, 03:02 PM
Power Poster

what ever you choose make sure you test it on a small area and make sure it is going to come out again- some times even if it says that's what it's for they do not always come out- best to always test! even if you used it on the last one and it came out fine- test it on the next one.
all that being said- i have always had the best luck just using a pencil...i've wasted lots of money on specialty markers/pencils/pens/chalk/
consistantly plain ole pencil works best (for me) and has always come out...unlike some expensive marking tools.
there are water erase markers- air erase markers- chalk- tracing paper- transfer pencils- (be careful with transfer pencils- they sometimes are permenent.)
Old 07-18-2011, 03:12 PM

Originally Posted by ckcowl
consistantly plain ole pencil works best (for me) and has always come out...
I didn't think lead would wash out, or do you do something different to remove it?? Inquiring minds want to know

;-)
Old 07-18-2011, 03:28 PM