Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Troubleshooting Janome 6600? >

Troubleshooting Janome 6600?

Troubleshooting Janome 6600?

Old 11-26-2008, 07:15 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

I seem to be having trouble with my 6600. The feed dogs don't pull the fabric along like they should. I was binding a quilt, not even a thick one at that, and the machine just hangs in one spot shortly after the beginning of the seam and sews in one place.

Anyone have any ideas on how to remedy this? I had to laugh. After months, I FINALLY get around to working on this quilt, and VOILA-the gremlins hiding in there do their thing... :) :) :)
Thanks,
Cathie (Scarlett6)
scarlett6 is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 07:22 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
LoriJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 700
Default

Try pulling the top and bottom threads to the back of the feet and holding them when starting your seam. Sometimes the thread nests at the beginning if the ends of the thread are not pulled back and out of the way. And make sure your foot pressure is at 3. Do you have the walking feet engaged fully? Check that too.
LoriJ is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 07:39 AM
  #3  
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 752
Default

Welcome to the boards Scarlett! pull the free arm off and check the feed dog drop switch back there. Mine is a little square button that you push either left or right, if you reach behind you can feel it, or turn the machine around to see it. You may have had it switched to feed dogs down position. It's easy to do accidentally if you took the free arm off for something. I've done it loads of times. Take the throat plate off, pop out the bobbin race, clean it well for any dust bunnies. My 4800 doesn't like anything to be caught down in there and a tiny piece of fuzz can cause havoc. Do those things, change your needle, totally re-thread everything and see if that helps. Also check to see if you have a build up of fuzz in the feed dog teeth. If so, an old toothbrush pops it right out. It will look like little pieces of felt.
babeegirl is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 06:37 PM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

I probably have been using the wrong foot for this. I have been using the quarter inch foot to attach the binding. I did take all of this area apart and was shocked at the amount of lint that came out of there. The only thing I have not done is change the needle. Maybe I should try using the walking foot.

I am prettty sure the feed dog switch is on the front of the 6600. My other machine (a 4800)-I remember it being down and around in the back... What is strange is when I move the switch on the front one way or the other, I don't see the feed dogs go up or down. (Actually, if I turn the machine off, then back on after moving this switch), the presser foot moves... Feed dogs seem to be up a little higher as you face the machine, and then slope downhill as you look towards the back of the feed dogs...

This is what happens when you let months go by before getting your machine out again... :) I think I neeed to make sure what I am looking at is the feed dog switch...

The pressure is set at 3. I will go over all of this again and see what happens using the walking foot... :) :) :)

Thanks for the help, you all are great,
Cathie

scarlett6 is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 07:59 PM
  #5  
Super Member
 
b.zang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,053
Default

My instruction manual also reminds me to check that the stitch length is not too fine. You can drop the feed dogs any time, but they will not come back up until the machine is turned off and back on. But, the lint'll get ya' any day.

Welcome.
b.zang is online now  
Old 11-27-2008, 06:24 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
sewsewquilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida Keys
Posts: 2,173
Default

There is a users group on Yahoo for 6500 and 6600. Here is the link. I think there are more 6600 owners in the group then 6500. Or the 6600 owners post more. :D They have very helpful information.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Janome6500/

On my 6500 the feed dog switch is on the front and the feed dog will not move back up until you start stitching. I have never tryed the 1/4" foot for attaching the binding. I usually use the walking foot.
sewsewquilter is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 09:01 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,822
Default

I would switch the feed dogs and then back again to make sure they are in full switch and also, double check for lint or threads down in the feed dogs or area. I haven't (knock on wood) had any prob w/my 6600. And, am on another forum and haven't heard of this there yet either. Keep us posted! Skeat
Skeat is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 10:22 PM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you ladies. You have been a great help.
Cathie
scarlett6 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
azure68
Main
32
03-09-2013 08:36 PM
connie d
Main
14
08-02-2011 01:14 AM
CrystalKicks
Main
3
07-26-2011 11:09 AM
auntluc
Links and Resources
1
02-07-2009 11:17 AM
stitchinMamaw
Main
4
01-02-2009 09:12 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.