Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Want advice on a new sewing machine

I'm a newbie here although I've been reading this board for a few mobths and think you are all wonderful! I've learned so much already.

I've been making quilts using a White sewing machine. I think I'm now ready to take the plunge and buy a much better machine. My local machine shop has a Vikimg Sapphire 850 on clrerance for $1299. I can also get an intergrated sewing platform for half off for $600. So my total cost would be $1899 plus tax. He's giving a tax credit until April 16th that I can use for sewing supplies or accessories.
    I would really like to strat machine wuiltining. I've been trying it on my White and it's not easy to move the fabric through the throat.
    Is this price a good deal? it seems like it to me.

I think you should check out other machines, make a list of what you would like on a machine. Don't buy the first thing you see. You never know what else is out there. As far as the price I do not know anything about this particular machine so no advice on that from here. Marge

I don't know anything about the particular machine you are talking about, but, I know for machine quilting the largest the throat opening, the better and easier to quilt on. My Juki TL98QE has a 9" throat and I quilt queen size quilts on it, will be quilting another next week. So look at the throat szie before buying any machine, and wear gloves with rubber nubs to make moving the quilt around easier. Just my opinion.