Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What is considered quality fabric? >

What is considered quality fabric?

What is considered quality fabric?

Old 08-21-2014, 08:38 AM

Default What is considered quality fabric?

Hello there!

I'm new to sewing and quilting. I've purchased some fabric from my local Hobby Lobby for my first quilt. It was roughly $6-7/yd. As I read through tutorials and blogs, I keep seeing references and recommendations to purchase quality fabric. As far as I know, I should look for 100% cotton. However, I'm not sure how to determine thread counts, etc. I can look at some fabric and tell that it is heavier than others.

Thanks in advance!

Signed,
Confused newbie
Old 08-21-2014, 08:58 AM

I think you will get many varied opinions on this. To me, the high quality fabrics are smooth, tightly woven, have some (but not too much) body and drape nicely. Lesser quality fabrics may be very thin (see if you can see the outline of your hand under a single layer), have off grain weaving, have nubs or slubs in the fabric from poor quality threads) or are very stiff from too much sizing used to try to give thin limp fabric more body. If you have a local quilt shop, I suggest you go in and browse and feel those $12 yard fabrics for comparison. Don't judge by price alone however. Also look at and feel fabric from quality manufacturers like Kaufman, Moda etc to start learning the differences. It does take some experience and practice.
Old 08-21-2014, 09:14 AM
Power Poster