Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: What do you consider to be the very best tip that you got from this board?

at the foot of the Ouichita Mountains, SE Oklahoma

What do you consider to be the very best tip that you got from this board?

I know it will be hard to narrow it down to one. LOL

I have received so much help from all of you, that it is hard for me to just pick one. But right now, I think it is when I asked how to cut borders that were 16 1/2-inch by 112-inch. I'm new to all this and was sooo scared to measure and cut it.

I received several good suggestions, but the one that was best (at least in my opinion) was that of not cutting, but to tear it.

If I wasn't scared of ruining that material before, I really was when I read that suggestion. LOL But I called my mom. She said that in the 'old days' (she's 86) that they never cut, but always tore...that if the fabric is good and not of cheap quality, it will tear perfectly.

I did it. O Happy Days! I've not measured nor cut a big border since.

So...what's your best one?

I can't recall all of them- so many. Most recently was the help I got "rehabbing" my 401a. Also basting with Elmer's washable school glue.

Power Poster
    So many great tips and links that I cannot recall them all. A few are Elmer's glue for bindings, appliqué sandwiching, prepping my needle for hand sewing, painter's tape on the bed of my machine for perfect binding joins.....

Definitely glue basting is the best.