Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: What kind of thimbles work best for you?

Smile What kind of thimbles work best for you?

I have been using leather thimbles for many years, but I seem to wear a thin place on them and wind up with the eye end of the needle in my finger ... OUCH! They also seem to stretch and fall off. I usually wind up wrapping them in electrical tape, which makes them less pliable. I've tried plastic ones and metal ones, but they just do not stay on and are uncomfortable. I'd love to hear what you use and find comfortable. I'm in the market to try anything once, just to save my poor, sore finger! Any advice is welcome!
    Wendy in VA

If I had a dollar for every time I got distracted I wish I had some ice cream.

I don't know if they make them any more, but I like the Jellies. I bought a bunch several years ago when I was showing kids how to hand stitch.

Use the leather one, if I use a metal one I am forever switching fingers to push with.

I have bad luck finding thinbles that work for me, as well. I'm using a regular metal thimble right now, and it's too big for me, so I wrap a scrap of fabric around my finger first to help it stay on. I ordered a shashiko thimble, that sits at the base of the finger, hopefully that'll work better for me.
    Last edited by Hemlock Tea; 04-04-2012 at 07:46 AM. Reason: spelling

I have many thimbles and like the leather one with the round metal "spot" on one side the best. I have also used those rubber fingers for office use that come in a package of assorted sizes. I think I got the last ones at Walmart. They don't last for a really long time but are cheap, seem to stay on and make pulling the needle through easier.