Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: what kind of thread do u use for sewing your blocks?

I use Coats and Clarks wondering if there is something better but not too expensive?
    I love this board :-D

I use Aurifil. It's fine and strong. It may seem expensive but there's a whole lot of yardage on one spool.

I too use Aurifil - I have been sewing for over 35 years and have found th e more you invest the better the end product in other word you get what you pay for - I looked online and found thread for like 8 bucks a spool for the big spools tons of thread on the spool don't think over all it really costs that much more....

Gutterman or Mettler...mostly out of habit, I guess. Cheap thread will kill your machine over time. I also have a ton of prewound bobbins because I long arm. If I happen to run out of sewing thread, I finish off a pre-wound so it doesn't go to waste.

Blog Entries
    I also use thread from Connecting Thread and thread from Long Creek Mills

Blog Entries
    Quilt Police are probably gonna be knocking at my door as soon as I post this, but, I use Serger thread. Comes in a large, very inexpensive spool. So far my work is holding up. Maybe not for 100 years, but I'll be dead by then and won't care! Just my way of keeping my costs down.

Connecting Threads. Good quality and not expensive.

I love Aurefil thread, but also use Mettler and Gutterman. I tend to use Mettler or Gutterman more frequently because only one LQS carries Aurefil and her selection is very limited. I rarely get the forethought to buy online, but am seriously thinking about getting one of their thread collections for my use. I tried Coats and Clark but did not like it - it frayed and fuzzed all over the place!