Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: What Sewing Machine to buy.

Since I am reading all the stories about bad machines. I wanted to know what sewing machine would be a good one for me to buy, I want to spend around 150 ( going to be my xmas present from hubby) Also my daughter is 8 and is wanting to start sewing what machine do I get her?? She wants one for xmas and not sure if I should bother with the kids sewing machine or just get her a smaller cheaper regular one. Any thoughts are much appreciated.

About the only thing I can recommend is that you stay away from the low end new Singers, older ones are much better. A lot of the people on board have Janome's but I have no actual experience with them. I would also buy from a dealer, not a big box store. The dealer might also have a used higher end machine for a very reasonable price.

About 6 weeks ago I purchased a Brother CS-770 Computerized machine from Hancocks for $159.00. It is not a fancy machine but it does everything I need it to do. It has 39 different stitches, some for quilting and some for embroidering. I did have to purchase seperately a free-motion quilting foot and a walking foot, but it was well worth it. My 6 year old grandson did some fancy stitching on a little bag I made for his Mom. He had no problems at all.

Picture will not upload. Sorry

OK..I think I got it.
    Attached Images Attached Images