Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Working with Flannel >

Working with Flannel

Working with Flannel

Old 09-01-2010, 01:17 PM

Hi all, I figured you all can answer this, except for me. I am going to make a baby quilt. I found some really cute flannel. But I have never worked with flannel before. Is it hard to work with. Is it fabric that should only be larger pieces. Does it quilt nicely. Does it slide around when you are sewing. Do you have any tips. I do have plenty of time to make this. Haven't ordered the material yet either. I just want to make a really cute quilt that is either for a boy or girl. But if it's to hard to work with, I'd just wait until I know if it's a boy or girl and just use cotton. Thanks for your help.
Old 09-01-2010, 01:20 PM

http://www.quiltingboard.com/t-60267-1.htm

Try looking through this thread. I just made a flannel baby quilt for someone, and got a lot of suggestions from others here on the board. It was different, trying to piece the flannel, as it 'crept.' I ended up using my walking foot to piece, as well as following the hints about starching, etc.

I think the quilt turned out alright. It was the first time I had pieced flannel for the top as well as use it for the backing. I did not have a problem quilting it. It was the piecing that got me.
Old 09-01-2010, 01:21 PM

From what I've read, wash and dry the flannel a couple of times in HOT water to maximize shrinkage before you cut; use at least 3/8 inch seams and heavily starch the flannel to help stabilize it. I haven't make a flannel quilt yet but plan to someday :thumbup:
Old 09-01-2010, 01:21 PM

Flannels are great. I highly recomend washing the flannels first before working with them. They tend to shrink more than regular cottons and they don't all shrink evenly.
I try not to use really small pieces because your seams will be thicker. Not too many half square triangles uless you keep them over 4" or more.
Flannels are great for making rag quilts with!