Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
would like help with a quilt yardage >

would like help with a quilt yardage

would like help with a quilt yardage

Old 11-30-2017, 08:01 AM

Default would like help with a quilt yardage

I want to make a quilt using the 54-40 or Fight pattern and set it with a snowball block. The blocks will be 12" finished and need enough for a queen size quilt.

I have a die to cut the shapes but do not know how much yardage of each of three colors, is needed for the top.
At the link below it shows 4 fabrics But I will use a solid white snowball background and not with the square in the center of it.
The snowball block is perfect for quilting to shine.

My question for those that can figure this yardage out, just how much of the three prints is needed. I have plenty of background white. Just need to know the amounts of prints to buy for my GD's gift. Can go to JA Fabrics tomorrow for fabrics.
TIA for any help

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfK7EvWbSVg

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 11-30-2017 at 09:53 AM. Reason: remove shouting/ all CAPS
Old 11-30-2017, 10:18 AM

You might be able to get a good guesstimate from here: https://www.shabbyfabrics.com/Tennes...rn-P50692.aspx

I've made a kingsized Tennessee Waltz (54/40 and snowball), but used scraps other than my main background color. If I were just guessing I would say a total of 5-6 yards for other than the background and use extras for pillows or backing.

here's another: http://quiltandsewforever.blogspot.c...see-waltz.html guesttimate that gives some ideas....
Old 11-30-2017, 10:30 AM
Power Poster

Have you drawn out one or two "sets" of what you are making - it would be helpful if we knew what your color placement plan is.

I'm not much help - I tend to buy about double what a reasonable person would buy and then hope for the best.
Old 11-30-2017, 10:41 AM

http://angiequilts.blogspot.com/2011...t-cave_16.html