Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 87

Thread: opinions anyone?

  1. #1
    Member happysteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    15

    opinions anyone?

    I finished a fun quilt for a fairly new grand daughter and was not as happy with the results as I wanted to be. thinking I will just do a simple one in pretty pastels for a keepsake and let her use this.
    Would love to hear your opinions.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Merritt Island ,Fl.
    Posts
    997
    It is a beautiful quilt. It will be loved. joyce j

  3. #3
    Super Member DebraK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    9,205
    I like it.

  4. #4
    Super Member Vicki W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    2,064
    I like it but think perhaps you didn't have enough contrast in the fabrics in the triangles in your blocks.I love the border fabric. Still perfect to snuggle with.
    Vicki W

  5. #5
    Super Member Sandee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    middle America
    Posts
    2,848
    Blog Entries
    71
    I like it alot! One can never have too many quilts-regardless of age! One in use, one in the wash, one in the bed, one in the car, one for a picnic-need I go on?? I think the one you showed us is very pretty!

  6. #6
    Super Member sandybuttons's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    3,234
    looks bright and hugable to me
    Sandy

  7. #7
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    9,846
    Blog Entries
    31
    It is a very nice quilt. Wonderful colors. Is this for a baby, toddler or a little older girl? IMHO we get caught up on what is right for baby. These days anything goes. The tradition of "baby colors" or pastels, I think is a thing of the past. I love the softer colors for babies but this is quite pretty and any little girl would love it. I would. You have to follow your heart and if it is telling you another quilt would be more fitting at this time then your heart is right.
    peace
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  8. #8
    Super Member Crqltr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,485
    Blog Entries
    2
    I think it is very pretty, and ilove your quilt hanger! That is a really good idea!

  9. #9
    Senior Member quilter1943's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Edgewater, FL
    Posts
    925
    I like it a lot. I enjoy using colors llike that and you've really done it well. She will love it. I agree, let her use it and maybe make a small wall hanging, more of a baby quilt. I make ones of bright colors for the grand babies and as soon as they can lift their heads, they're on their tummies on them searching out colors and shapes. Great job!
    Nana Jan
    Friendships are gifts from God that should be cherished and nourished

  10. #10
    Senior Member vwquilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Wells Me
    Posts
    863
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think it is a wonberful quilt I would finish it with a dark border. I would be e thrilled to own it Gorgous.

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Topeka, KS
    Posts
    3,827
    Love your fabrics! I love those types of batiks. I would think any child would love this one.

  12. #12
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Port Charlotte, Fl
    Posts
    2,573
    Love your colors. I'm not sure about the border. The green & blue in the quilt I think either might be nice. Sue

  13. #13
    Super Member hperttula123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern Wisconsin
    Posts
    8,438
    it's very pretty. I think however you decide to do the next one, it will look great too. It's a good pattern that can be used in so many different fabrics.
    enjoy your life...it's the only one you have!!!
    Heather

  14. #14
    Power Poster earthwalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    10,327
    I really like it....sometimes I think pastels can be a little wishy-washy...this is really appealing and the fabrics are lovely.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    440
    Nice bright colors for a a little girl. You did a great job.

  16. #16
    Super Member alfosa421's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    up to my eyeballs in UFOs
    Posts
    2,341
    Blog Entries
    3
    Very colorful I think its cool!!!

  17. #17
    RDM
    RDM is offline
    Super Member RDM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Evergreen State
    Posts
    1,558
    Blog Entries
    1
    It's lovely and sure to be well loved.

  18. #18
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,361
    It is really beautiful!!!!!

  19. #19
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    dallas tx.
    Posts
    4,692
    Blog Entries
    3
    I love it. It looks like jewels. Wonderful!

  20. #20
    Power Poster Tweety2911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    17,128
    Blog Entries
    3
    I agree, its a wonderful quilt. It has bright colors in it and sure to be loved!
    Helen T.

  21. #21
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Mabank, Texas
    Posts
    8,311
    It's awesome. I love the colors and the pattern.
    Fabric is like money, no matter how much you have it's never enough.

  22. #22
    Super Member Stitchnripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mableton, GA
    Posts
    8,656
    It looks wonderful. I am thinking that small babies love the vibrant colors more than the traditional softer ones.

  23. #23
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Suring, Wisconsin
    Posts
    14,442
    Love it and so will your granddaughter.

  24. #24
    Super Member kathdavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Blue Springs, Missouri
    Posts
    2,484
    Blog Entries
    2
    It's beautiful! Love those batiks. Pastels are out. These vibrant colors are what is in and this one is wonderful.
    Kathleen

    Remember, people will see your quilts long after you are gone....NOT your housework!

  25. #25
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bosque County, Texas
    Posts
    2,705
    I think it is very nice for a quilt to use. If you were wanting a quilt to be an heirloom, then I think you didn't quite do the job. What do you want? I love the quilts you wrap a baby in, then save to wrap the next baby in - so very delicate and looking like they belong in a museum. But not the quilt you put on the floor or on the bed - just the one you take out when the baby goes to church, to visit friends and relatives, etc. where both the baby and quilt are shown off.
    Last edited by TanyaL; 04-03-2012 at 07:09 PM.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.