Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > QB Help Center
Uploading photos >

Uploading photos

Uploading photos

Old 05-17-2020, 01:05 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Gaylord, MN
Posts: 2,673
Default Uploading photos

I still cannot post pictures, either from my IPad or my desktop computer. When I try to post a new thread and attach a photo, there is no "Go Advanced" option anyplace on the screen, but if I want to reply to someone else's post, there is the "Go Advance" option. Maybe that will help to address this problem some of us are having with adding a pix to our newly started threads.

Thank you.
Karamarie is offline  
Old 05-17-2020, 02:20 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Near Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,213
Default

When I first joined the board I also had a lot of problems posting pictures, took me a lot of figuring to find out what was wrong and some of that was because I just don't see the same things as other people, so the other screen shots weren't helping me.

I tried starting a new post, and then I minimized my display. Usually I have my display higher than usual (120%) because of my vision issues, so the part with the attachments is a couple screens below where I'm typing. But if I scroll down/zoom out, this is what I see. The Manage Attachment area is below the message input box so I don't see it unless I look for it.

To get a screenshot on a windows system, use the "windows key" (so probably the same basic thing with the apple key) and the Prnt Screen Button up by your function keys or numpad.

Because of some of my various browser/pop up protections, I have to use ctrl click to get into the manage attachments screen.

Then, when you get to the Browse/Upload screen it took me a way longer time than I'd like to admit to figure out I had to resize the box -- stretch it out to the far right to get to the actual upload button.

Edit: We also have a very short window for editing a post, maybe you can make your initial post and then edit in the picture.

Edit 2: If you have a mouse with a scroll wheel, hold down ctrl and roll the wheel to quickly change your screen magnification!
Attached Thumbnails screenshot-8-.png  

Last edited by Iceblossom; 05-17-2020 at 02:31 PM. Reason: Edited for editing!
Iceblossom is offline  
Old 05-17-2020, 06:32 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
OurWorkbench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,320
Default

Thank you, Iceblossom. I couldn't remember if the paper clip icon (which is what I use) next to the smiley was there when starting a new thread. It does take a while for my pictures to load and takes a while longer when I want to insert images somewhere in the text. I have to be patient to make sure fully loaded to insert images.

Janey - Neat people never make the exciting discoveries I do.


OurWorkbench is offline  
Old 05-18-2020, 04:39 AM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Near Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,213
Default

I can't get the paper clip to work for me, I think because of my browser/pop up protections. I use Firefox as a browser and my system is pretty well locked down in terms of being extra cautious, isn't so easy or fun for me to browse the internet as you might want, but I don't get any serious consequences. Among other things, this system has never had Java installed and that will cause weird problems here and there on older sites particularly.

So for me it's scroll down and manage attachments.

I actually rather like the thumbnail attachments. Wish there was an easier way to tab/navigate through them, but most boards don't deal with pictures at all because of bad human behavior, so I'm pretty thankful that we have them at all.
Iceblossom is offline  
Old 05-18-2020, 05:05 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
OurWorkbench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,320
Default

I use Firefox, too, but not as "locked down" as yours. Interestingly, I (just for fun) tried to "Go Advanced" from "Quick Reply" and tried the paper clip icon. It did not work. So I tried the red "Reply" button and when that screen came up, the paper clip icon would work. I also tried "Quote" and the paper clip icon worked that way, too.

Janey - Neat people never make the exciting discoveries I do.
OurWorkbench is offline  
Old 05-18-2020, 10:43 AM
  #6  
Administrator
 
PatriceJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Posts: 8,970
Default

Originally Posted by OurWorkbench View Post
... I tried the red "Reply" button and when that screen came up, the paper clip icon would work....
that's what the instructions say.
__________________
  • necessity is the mother of invention. lazy is the crazy aunt.
  • for issues regarding the reminder emails, please contact [email protected]
  • To contact me with questions or suggestions that relate to our community, you may email [email protected]
PatriceJ is offline  
Old 05-18-2020, 04:26 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
OurWorkbench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,320
Default

Originally Posted by PatriceJ View Post
that's what the instructions say.
I guess I was going by
Originally Posted by PatriceJ View Post
...
if you want to add a photo to a new comment your are posting within a thread already started, you have to remember:
-to either use the big red "reply" button instead just jumping in to add the comment; or
-to "go advanced" if the paper clip is not already visible in your comment window.
And actually, the "Manage Attachments" doesn't work either if I "Go Advanced" but it does show the paper clip. So the "either ... or" doesn't work, only the "big red "reply" button" does. Or at least that has been my experience.

Janey - Neat people never make the exciting discoveries I do.
OurWorkbench is offline  
Old 06-02-2020, 05:11 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Crispy_Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 768
Default

I get the pic in position to upload and once I hit upload I get a failed message. The file is 3 MB and the max is 5 Mg for a jpg. What is failing?
Crispy_Frog is offline  
Old 06-03-2020, 12:24 AM
  #9  
Administrator
 
PatriceJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Posts: 8,970
Default

Originally Posted by Crispy_Frog View Post
I get the pic in position to upload and once I hit upload I get a failed message. The file is 3 MB and the max is 5 Mg for a jpg. What is failing?
if you downsize it to less than 2MB it will load.
i always compress mine to less than 1MB in consideration of those who are not on high speed internet.
__________________
  • necessity is the mother of invention. lazy is the crazy aunt.
  • for issues regarding the reminder emails, please contact [email protected]
  • To contact me with questions or suggestions that relate to our community, you may email [email protected]
PatriceJ is offline  
Old 06-03-2020, 08:44 AM
  #10  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Near Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,213
Default

I believe the 5 MB is the total of all attachments and each must be much smaller. The software I have for my old camera doesn't give me a lot of options so I go to this site to reduce my file sizes:
https://www.reduceimages.com/
I just use their defaults and download it from there and have never had a problem uploading. It's just a matter of dragging your image to their site and click a couple of buttons.

I do this now for all my images, so before I send an email to someone it is already reduced. I can tell you that my emails with images get sent about 3 times as fast now! For people using smart phones there are defaults and options you can set. Again, I'm using an older digital camera so I have to take this extra step.
Iceblossom is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.