Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > QuiltingBoard Challenges & Contests
On Ringo Lake -- Bonnie Hunter Mystery Quilt 2017-18 >

On Ringo Lake -- Bonnie Hunter Mystery Quilt 2017-18

On Ringo Lake -- Bonnie Hunter Mystery Quilt 2017-18

Old 01-05-2018, 06:42 AM

SewBizGirl - Wow is right! Beautiful quilt top - love the striking color And thank you for your feedback regarding up-sizing. Yes, I'm a newbie having just bought my Juki 2200 (mini) in July and only have a few smaller quilts under my belt. If I appear to have any skills its truly because I read and try to follow all the great advice shared here. I've re-measured and, at minimum, I'd like to up-size to 90" x 90" knowing it will be a monster. Will ponder for a bit before moving forward. Thank you, again, for your thoughts I always appreciate your feedback!
Christine
Old 01-05-2018, 06:42 AM

I've been working on my second alternate - it's half the blocks with Kassaundra's idea of swapping darks/lights. I'm keeping Bonnie's setting for it, but will do something a bit different for the setting trianlges.

I have the blocks sewn and have been attaching sashing. I prefer to attach it to the blocks and sew the blocks together, but that takes a bit of planning since it's not the same for every block.

I still have not decided what to do with my main set, but those blocks are all assembled so any changes would just be to the sashing. At least by waiting on that set, I'm getting a chance to see a lot more ideas.
Old 01-05-2018, 06:47 AM

Krisb , that's a whole new look! I love your rich colors.

Kristi, a beautiful block! Your tangerines look wonderful.

Bravo, sewbizgirl, that is beautiful. I can't wait to see what you do with borders.

I finished my original clue 3s yesterday, but didn't sew end to end as I'm not sure now how they will be used. I mastered the quick method for the parallelograms, so the neutral batch should not take nearly as long to make.