Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Recipes
How do I make a homemade pie? >

How do I make a homemade pie?

How do I make a homemade pie?

Old 07-02-2008, 09:42 AM

Hi everyone!

I really want to learn to make a good homemade pie. My husband loves them. I want to learn how to make the crust and the whole works.

Can someone help me?

Vanessa :)
Old 07-02-2008, 09:47 AM

I gave up on pie crust! Tried every recipe known to man and nothing worked for me, so I buy the pillsbury ready crusts but I do make homemade fillings. And nobody ever knows the difference!!!
Old 07-02-2008, 09:49 AM

I swear by the Pillsbury pie crusts! There's an awesome, fool proof apple pie recipe on the package. Turns out delicious every time! Are you looking for a particular pie recipe? I love making pies!
Old 07-02-2008, 10:08 AM

I'm not good at crusts either. But a few years back DH decided he was going to tackle it "just like my aunt used to make." He got pretty good but had to give it up when both our cholesterol levels were too high.

I think it's not so much the recipe as the technique. I know you don't want' to handle pie dough too much. Also, my Mom said lard made the best crusts, although it's one of the worst things healthwise. And I've heard ice water for the liquid. Try doing an internet search. Maybe there's a video or some other kind of tutorial.

Now you've got me hungry for a good homemade pie!
Old 07-02-2008, 10:14 AM

Okay I have to admit I'm surprised... I'm not surprised at wanting to learn... I'm surprised no one has giving you the thumbs up for wanting to learn...

I use my mother's whole wheat pie crust recipe, personally I love the nutty flavor the whole wheat gives it, but you didn't say are you looking for a white flour crust or just what? I honestly don't think my white flour one is nearly as good, but some people just can't stand the thought of whole wheat.