Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Do you have your machine plugged into a surge protector? >

Do you have your machine plugged into a surge protector?

Do you have your machine plugged into a surge protector?

Old 12-27-2015, 05:26 AM
  #61  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: new york state
Posts: 9,009
Default

Yes I do. It's well worth the small investment.
zennia is offline  
Old 12-27-2015, 05:41 AM
  #62  
Super Member
 
Mitch's mom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 1,443
Default

I have a 2 phase approach going on. I have surge protectors at my outlets and a power conditioner plugged into them. My machine is plugged into the power conditioner. My nephew builds motherboards and explained it to me.
Surge protectors will protect from an outside surge coming into your home, power outage, brown outs, but most likely not a direct lightening strike.

Power conditioners
will protect your electronics from surges inside your home. Refrigerator turning on, deep freeze coming on, air conditioning units powering up, furnace blower turning on, sump pumps starting, Your electric oven element keeping the temperature steady while baking. Anything that pulls a large load of power to start causes a fluctuation in the power going to your electronics. The power conditioner levels it out so the flow is always steady. He recommends Furman power conditioners. The model I have has the PST 2+6.

Last edited by Mitch's mom; 12-27-2015 at 05:47 AM.
Mitch's mom is offline  
Old 12-27-2015, 05:55 AM
  #63  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 4,299
Default

Hah, I was just going to talk about power conditioners.

My DH makes electronic music, so he has a lot of electronic hardware in his home studio, and he uses UPS's, surge protectors, and power conditioners to keep everything safe.

I don't have one in my sewing studio, but I really should. When I'm heating up my iron and sewing at the same time, my machine slows and when the iron element kicks on. I don't think that's good for either appliance.
Sewnoma is offline  
Old 12-27-2015, 07:03 PM
  #64  
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Round Rock,Texas
Posts: 6,135
Default

I have mine plugged into a power strip that has a fuse.
Sharon in Texas
purplefiend is offline  
Old 12-28-2015, 10:23 AM
  #65  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: just west of Gilroy, Ca.
Posts: 235
Default

Yikes I never thought of plugging my machine to surge protector.....guess I better get out and purchase a good one
Tumdarra is offline  
Old 12-28-2015, 10:27 AM
  #66  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,277
Default

I use surge protectors on all my machines and my iron. I still unplug the machines when I'm done with them. The iron I leave plugged into the surge protector. I mounted my surge protectors on the wall so that it's easy to plug and unplug them. I'm not trusting a surge protector with my expensive machines when they can easily be unplugged when I'm finished with them.
cashs_mom is offline  
Old 12-28-2015, 12:55 PM
  #67  
Super Member
 
blondeslave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Airmont, NY
Posts: 3,226
Default

Yep. You never know. There was a surge and 2 of the sockets on my surge protector with the PC and modem were fried. The modem and PC were fine just had to replace the surge protector.
blondeslave is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
lisainvermont
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
8
11-15-2019 07:59 AM
Jeanne S
Main
108
06-14-2014 01:12 PM
p38flygirl
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
10
03-23-2011 05:18 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter