Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
looking to upgrade sewing machine and dont know where to start >

looking to upgrade sewing machine and dont know where to start

looking to upgrade sewing machine and dont know where to start

Old 12-21-2011, 10:04 AM

Default looking to upgrade sewing machine and dont know where to start

Hi folks! I am somewhat new to quilting. I have taken several classes at my LQS; made a few table runners, two lap quilts and now I am hooked! I currently use a fairly simple Brother machine that was fine to get started, but I am getting frustrated with it. It is great for piecing, but not so much for quilting. This last lap quilt I made I felt was pieced beautifully. I was very proud of it... until I quilted it. The darn walking foot and I just did not get along. I ended up with several tucks where the top was pushed ahead of the backing. Even my instructor was struggling with it when she tried to help me, so I know it is not just operator error. I am so disappointed with my quilt now that I doubt I will even bind it.

Talking to my husband I think my interest in quilting is here to stay so it may be time to invest in a proper machine. I don't even know where to start. I have two shops near me that I can check out machines at, but I don't even know what to "check out".

Price? I would say my budget is 2K or less. Is that going to limit me?

Any suggestions on what a newbie should look for in her first machine?

Thanks in advance!
Old 12-21-2011, 10:10 AM