Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How do you make your quilting designs on quilts???? >

How do you make your quilting designs on quilts????

How do you make your quilting designs on quilts????

Old 12-03-2012, 05:27 AM

Default How do you make your quilting designs on quilts????

I have been doing a lot of research on how to make quilting designs on quilts. My free motion leaves a lot to be desired. So, I need to find an alternative method to use while I Hone my skills. I have seen many different techniques for transferring the pattern on the top. Which one you do use? And, what kind? I tried using tissue paper (not a pretty experience) And, I bought the POUNCE. )(haven't tried it yet) Anuy suggestions???
Old 12-03-2012, 05:46 AM

Pounce works best if you rub a damp cloth over the area first. It helps hold the chalk in place.
I use stencils since Im not good at freehand. I like the ones with mesh instead of cut outs.
Just bought a roll of paper with stipples on it. Thought this would be a good way to train myself to do them later freehand.
The golden paper rolls are a good way to transfer patterns by just needle punching the pattern into layers of paper.
By doing stitch in the ditch for the middle of a quilt then using a pattern for the borders you get good practice.
The borders are the easiest since you dont have all the bulk to deal with.
Old 12-03-2012, 06:35 AM
Power Poster

I just do a large stipple, very easy and I love the look and love doing it.
Old 12-03-2012, 07:08 AM

pounce, golden threads , and chalk pencils, have used all 3 just fine for practice and small projects there are also rolls of designa like stipples made easy on paper ready for you to try, keepsake quilting sells them
Old 12-03-2012, 07:36 AM