Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
Which sewing machine do you feel is best for a child's first and why >

Which sewing machine do you feel is best for a child's first and why

Which sewing machine do you feel is best for a child's first and why

Old 07-06-2016, 09:03 AM

Default Which sewing machine do you feel is best for a child's first and why

I have been teaching a young girl to sew for a couple years now. She will be 9 in November. I'd like to get her a decent sewing machine of her own. Do you have any experience with a decent "first" that isn't a kids machine? Someone did buy her a little pink thing for her 7th birthday, which began the sewing learning experience. However, it was so bad that I quickly put her on my Husqvarna Designer SE. She handled that machine like a pro. I think I'd like to spend no more than 400 dollars if possible. Right now she is doing pillows and quilts. I'd like her to have lessons from a pro as we don't have much time to spend together at the moment.
Old 07-06-2016, 09:19 AM

look into a low end Janome that can do a blanket stitch and a quilting stitch.
Old 07-06-2016, 09:24 AM
Power Poster

I bought my DGD the high end Hello Kitty Janome machine model 18750 when she was 8 years old. She still uses it and she is 19 now. Very well made and so easy to operate. I think the Hello Kitty will be this generation's Featherweight. LOL. Her friends all want one.
Old 07-06-2016, 09:30 AM

What kind of space does she have to use a machine? Is this something she has to set up on a kitchen table? Do you want her to have all the bells and whistles of your machine? I learned on and used my mother's Singer 15-91. It had a button hole attachment and an attachment that did decorative stitches, not that I used it that much because I was sewing clothes from the time I was 8 years old. You can usually find them in a cabinet.