Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilt as you go vs Quilt top method >

Quilt as you go vs Quilt top method

Quilt as you go vs Quilt top method

Old 03-27-2017, 09:05 PM

Default Quilt as you go vs Quilt top method

Hi,

I am new to quilting and would appreciate some advice. I know how to sew and feel comfortable sewing straight lines. I would love to start making lap quits for Christmas gifts this year. I plan on using pre-cuts to start. For my first quilt what would be easier to learn? Quilt as you go technique or making a quilt top then quilting. I feel confident with my ability to piece the quilt but I'm very nervous about quilting it. If I decide to go with the quilt top method should I use a long arm quilting service? Is it expensive?

Thanks!
Old 03-27-2017, 09:14 PM
Power Poster

Welcome from Ontario, Canada. The advantage of QAYG is you can quilt the squares without moving a large quilt sandwich. There are many good tutorial on YouTube about it.
Learning to make a quilt sandwich and quilt the whole quilt does have learning curve but you can straight line quilt it.
As for paying so one to quilt it for you, that depends on the size and the quilting pattern you choose. I think Missouri Star Quilt co. is fairly reasonable for machine quilting. Your profile doesn't say where you are located so it is hard to say what the pricing may be like in your area.
Old 03-28-2017, 03:12 AM
Power Poster

you could contact your local quilt shops or guilds to find someone who would be able to give you an estimate on quilting services... that way, no mailing of the quilt would be involved.
for myself, i found quilting the whole top easier than QAYG... but i'm new to QAYG.
Old 03-28-2017, 03:17 AM