Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
I have never sewed a quilt I’m >

I have never sewed a quilt I’m

I have never sewed a quilt I’m

Old 01-24-2019, 03:48 PM

Default I have never sewed a quilt I’m

I’m a very much a novice at sewing. I signed up for this board mainly to learn about my vintage machine.

A really good friend saw a post on Facebook I made about how I went from searching for sewing machine parts to having 5 machines in my garage in less than a month. He said make me a Quilt. I kinda laughed it off. I will make you a snugglely the little fleece blanket as sold on TV that you actually wear. Ha ha one year for Christmas I bought him one as a gag gift he actually used it. He has made me and my wife a couple of really cool scroll saw pieces in the past...

I got an invitation to his retirement from the US Navy in April. I already Made reservations for my family for that weekend.

I want to produce a some what simple queen size quilt. I’m thinking an embroidered emblem atleast an 18 inch square as the center piece and then just similar sized squares. I would like to do this on my 1942 singer 15-91.

Im thinking topside will be a rugged material like duck cloth/ light canvas

please please someone stear me in the right direction

Last edited by Dougstermd; 01-24-2019 at 03:51 PM. Reason: spelling
Old 01-24-2019, 04:49 PM

I sure would not 'design my own quilt' on the first one. some people never get the first quilt done, and it sits for years. your goal is to finish one. period. i'ld do a rotary cut quilt, and i recommend eleanor burns single irish chain as a first.
Old 01-24-2019, 04:53 PM