Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
A Big Hello from Mississippi! >

A Big Hello from Mississippi!

A Big Hello from Mississippi!

Old 07-27-2020, 08:28 AM

Smile A Big Hello from Mississippi!

Greetings Fellow Crafters!
I am pleased to join the community here! I am a newbie to sewing machinery. My father taught me to hand sew, and 5 years ago I taught myself to knit. Now, at 23 years old, I will teach myself to use a sewing machine. I recently acquired an old Commander sewing Machine from an estate!
After some research, I've found it is most likely a 1938 White Commander 116.300 26770. She came in a desk cabinet and is in need of some TLC. A piece that I believe holds the bobbin for the bottom thread fell out, and I am searching for any instruction manuals or documents that can assist me in placing it back and properly oiling and cleaning the machine. It hasn't been used in decades, but still works.

I've named her Tillie and she and I are in it for the long run. These machines were made to be passed down and I plan to keep this one a long while.

Any information on this particular machine is greatly obliged. I'll be posting pictures of Tillie later tonight.

Thank you kindly!
Tyra
Old 07-27-2020, 09:49 AM

Hi Tyra! I'm a former Mississippi girl, you will meet some great people thru this site. Welcome aboard
Old 07-27-2020, 10:30 AM

Thank you! I hope to collect fabrics from every state. So far, I've got some beautiful Thai Silk!
Old 07-27-2020, 10:49 AM
Power Poster

Welcome from Ontario, Canada.
Old 07-27-2020, 12:06 PM
Power Poster

Big Welcome back atcha, from Mississippi! I live just south of Jackson. Are you anywhere near Meridian? I go up there about every two months to sew with a group making little dresses for girls in South America.

Glad you found the QB!
Old 07-27-2020, 02:39 PM

Welcome from NE Ohio 🙋‍♀️
Old 07-27-2020, 05:38 PM
Power Poster

Welcome to the QB and happy quilting
Old 07-27-2020, 06:58 PM