Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Organizing your sewing day >

Organizing your sewing day

Organizing your sewing day

Old 08-22-2021, 09:15 AM

Default Organizing your sewing day

I am relatively new to sewing and quilting. I watched a lot of tutorials and have learned a lot! My sewing room is organized but… I have a table behind my machine as well as on both sides to extend the surface for quilting large projects and the small table on the right has my ironing station and small cutting mat for trimming. Due to space constraints the table behind the machine doubles as my cutting station and to make it a comfortable height for cutting I put two foam insulation boards under my large cutting mat. All of that has to be removed in order for quilting to be done and I put a slippery thing over the table as well. The surface to the left accumulates partially finished blocks or strips as I piece as well as cut offs so they have to be put away (or thrown to the floor!) before quilting. When I tire of quilting I have to reverse the whole organizing process which often overwhelms me to the point sometimes of avoiding the room altogether. I think I need to organize my sewing day so this doesn’t happen so my question is: Do you organize your day with quilting first and cutting/piecing next or vice versa or…?

Last edited by tanyasharon; 08-22-2021 at 09:18 AM.
Old 08-22-2021, 01:45 PM

I don't. I'm often working on 2 projects and when I run into a snag or get tired of doing one thing I move on to the other. My sewing area now is fairly large, but when I had a small area, I usually ended up cutting on the dining room table just to be out of the way. Maybe that's why my husband suggested I take the big bedroom upstairs for my sewing when we moved to this house. lol
Old 08-23-2021, 03:29 AM
Power Poster

Welcome from Michigan!
Old 08-23-2021, 07:55 AM

First off, welcome to the boards and grats on having a sewing space!