Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Opinion(s) Needed - Could This Singer Treadle Work Again?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    20

    Opinion(s) Needed - Could This Singer Treadle Work Again?

    I'm so sad that this machine was in pristine condition 4 years ago. Long story - but this is the condition I found it in today. My folks gave it to a friend to "store", but it was kept in an outbuilding where mice shredded the manual, old fabric scraps, and ruined everything that was in the drawers. I was able to salvage the metal attachments, oil cans, tools, etc., however many of those now have rust. My question to you fine experts is....can this machine be restored back to health? Once rust sets in on a machine....do I need to replace most parts? Can attachments be "unrusted"? I know there is a lot of information on this board about machine restoration, but I wanted your opinion on this machine. Is it worth the months of elbow grease? As far as I can find, this is a model 82. I'm not familiar with treadles at all....but it seems appealing to begin using them as I further my quilting journey. I love sewing on my Singer electrics (99, 66) for straight stitching,but treadles could be a new chapter.

    I'm heart-broken this machine fell into ruin, but maybe it can still be saved? Could a (careful, dedicated) novice do it? I apologize if this is too many pictures - I'm still learning the rules of this board. Thanks in advance for looking at this.
    Name:  IMG_0082.jpg
Views: 452
Size:  1.31 MB Name:  IMG_0083.jpg
Views: 448
Size:  1.20 MB Name:  IMG_0086.jpg
Views: 443
Size:  1.19 MB Name:  IMG_0085.jpg
Views: 450
Size:  1.00 MB Name:  IMG_0087.jpg
Views: 448
Size:  885.0 KB

  2. #2
    Member sgreen511's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Roaring Spring, PA
    Posts
    36
    Evaporust works great on the metal parts.
    Sue

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    20
    Thank you - just ordered Evaporust!
    Vintage Hoarder. Serial Sewer. Renegade Farmer
    Singer 115-Treadle, Singer 99 (x2), Singer 66-16, Singer 66-18, Singer 401, Bernina 830 Record, White Rotary 77, White Rotary 43, Janome HD1000, Brother XR3340, Bernina 800DL Serger

  4. #4
    Super Member luvstoquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Yorkville, IL
    Posts
    6,078
    Blog Entries
    3
    What a beautiful machine and cabinet. I know you will save it.
    "You must do the thing you think you cannot do"....E. Roosevelt

    Sharon
    Yorkville, IL

  5. #5
    Super Member leonf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    near Topeka kansas
    Posts
    2,352
    For this group, it looks wonderful. Several of us have bought far worse and brought them back to life. You may never get origianl beauty without major work, butI don't like to erase history either. Keep water away from your lovely decals. there are lots of hints available on the stickies here.
    Last edited by QuiltnNan; 04-16-2019 at 07:28 AM.
    "Sacrifices must be made." Otto Lilienthal

  6. #6
    Super Member leonf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    near Topeka kansas
    Posts
    2,352
    Name:  VSM Graveyard heads on barrels b.jpg
Views: 351
Size:  317.0 KB This is one place I have gone shopping.. and yes. I have brought some back to life. and No , I didn't buy them all.
    "Sacrifices must be made." Otto Lilienthal

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    1,702
    I've seen lots worse than this that people have been able to get back to good, working condition. I would suggest you start with the thread, which is second from the top of this forum page: https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintag...v-t167789.html

    I would start with metal polish on the machine. Sometimes, it will take off the rust if it's not too deep. It's easier to use and less caustic than some rust removers. I don't know what brand I bought, but I got it at the grocery store.

    Your machine looks like a model 15 to me. I'm no expert, but when the tension is on the end, it's usually a model 15.

    After you watch some of those videos that Miriam suggests, you'll have a sense of direction on where to go from here. Most everyone on QB will be happy to help in any way they can. We all love old sewing machines.

    bkay

  8. #8
    Super Member OurWorkbench's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    1,345
    I believe you have a 115 from about 1918. A manual for the 115 from that time period can be found at http://ismacs.net/singer_sewing_mach...ine-manual.pdf The manual for 115 on the Singer site is for a later machine from the 1960s, I believe.

    Leon, is right about the stickies https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintag...s-t193635.html and https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintag...v-t167789.html

    Also, about it not being that bad. I have used Nev-r Dull, Brasso and 0000 steel wool on some metal pieces that have been removed from the machine. I have not been able to get pieces to shine up to bare metal again after using Evaporust. I have used a dremel and metal polish, which will protect it, but still dark grey after Evaporust.

    Patience and care will bring it back to functionality. A new belt would be in order.

    Janey - Neat people never make the exciting discoveries I do.
    Last edited by OurWorkbench; 04-16-2019 at 06:30 AM. Reason: add spacing Not affiliated with ismacs
    Janey & John

  9. #9
    Power Poster miriam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    15,511
    Blog Entries
    2
    Janey, I believe you are correct.
    This machine is beautiful and well worth restoring!
    Never let a sewing machine know you are in a hurry.

  10. #10
    Super Member leonf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    near Topeka kansas
    Posts
    2,352
    Name:  Singer 115 at sale b.jpg
Views: 328
Size:  417.7 KBThis was the one I had.
    "Sacrifices must be made." Otto Lilienthal

  11. #11
    Junior Member charley26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Herefordshire, UK
    Posts
    248
    It is a lovely machine in need of some TLC, I am sure you will work wonders with it. I think that light needs to come off though - good thing that there is a piece of fabric between the clamp and the machine. The stickies - as mentioned - will guide you through; don't rush it.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    283
    Thank you for restoring this machine. I love the 115, and this example really isn't in terrible shape.
    I enjoy the process of cleaning, oiling, and helping it stitch again.
    Substitutes for a leather belt include screen spline and aquarium tubing. Leather belts come in two different diameters, if you decide to try an alternative, pick a size that is similar.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    20
    Everyone on this thread, thank you so much for your encouragement and understanding. I also cannot stand to see a piece of history just thrown away - I love these old machines. Even if it was beyond saving, I would keep her. And, when I looked up the serial number it said "82", but as I looked further at Singer 82's, there is no way this could be that machine. I'm grateful for your feedback on model number. If the mice hadn't shredded the manual, I would know for sure. (sigh). I will follow all videos and threads to restore this. I honestly feel like restoring these machines is good for the soul and mind. I feel truly blessed to have found this board - like minded folks that care about preserving our history. Some people think I'm crazy. I feel this same way about quilts! I have 40+ that will never find their use as a lawn drop cloth, kennel padding, etc. I love each of them - rips and all. Thank you for not thinking I'm crazy, like some folks do. We all have our missions in life - sewing machines and quilts are my rehab mission.
    Vintage Hoarder. Serial Sewer. Renegade Farmer
    Singer 115-Treadle, Singer 99 (x2), Singer 66-16, Singer 66-18, Singer 401, Bernina 830 Record, White Rotary 77, White Rotary 43, Janome HD1000, Brother XR3340, Bernina 800DL Serger

  14. #14
    Super Member leonf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    near Topeka kansas
    Posts
    2,352
    Ahhh you made a jump there my neighbor to the North. Just because a manual is in a cabinet does not mean it is actuallly for that machine. Some have found manuals for three machines in the same drawer. And BTW, the 115 was not made in the huge numbers that many models were.

    I've picked up VSMs in Nebraska, Colorado, Missouri, Oklahoma, and Mississippi. a few have come to see me from Texas. (thanks again bkay) I may be forgetting a state or two. I donated my 115 to the Vintage Sewing museum in Tulsa.

    Yes, we have the addictions too.
    "Sacrifices must be made." Otto Lilienthal

  15. #15
    Super Member KalamaQuilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    SW Washington USA
    Posts
    3,245
    Excited to see you start your journey, please continue to document it here, we love watching the process.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    20
    Well, off to a sad start (but I will press on!) I took the light/clamp off, and what I thought was old fabric underneath the clamp turned out to be layers of bandaging tape. Years of thick adhesive "baking" onto the machine - it pulled the gold foil lettering and design right off. I don't think there is a solvent made that would have taken off the super sticky tape without damaging the foil. (sigh) You would think removing the light would be fairly painless, but lesson #1: expect the unexpected. Will keep you posted!
    Vintage Hoarder. Serial Sewer. Renegade Farmer
    Singer 115-Treadle, Singer 99 (x2), Singer 66-16, Singer 66-18, Singer 401, Bernina 830 Record, White Rotary 77, White Rotary 43, Janome HD1000, Brother XR3340, Bernina 800DL Serger

  17. #17
    Member Treadle&Gears's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    ubiquitous
    Posts
    94
    Quote Originally Posted by AnInspiredMess View Post
    I don't think there is a solvent made that would have taken off the super sticky tape without damaging the foil. (sigh)
    If there is any residue left from the tape, try some sewing machine oil on a cloth wrapped over it to keep the oil on it overnight. It may not work with every adhesive, but I was able to soften and remove the remains of a glued on magnetic pin cushion off of my Necchi Nora that way.

    You have a very pretty machine!

    K
    Household Model 3X | Jones Family CS Hand | The Free No. 5 | Foley & Williams Reliable | Wheeler & Wilson 8 | Singer 66-1 | Singer 99K | Necchi NA Nora | Grumpy DH

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.