Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/vintage-sewing-machine-shop-come-sit-spell-t43881.html)

Miz Johnny 10-15-2010 12:22 PM

Originally Posted by purplefiend
Here's an update of my previous posting.
I have been sewing with my new treadle cabinet all evening, its a joy to sew with , no annoying clanking. :-D
I have a metal straight leg Singer treadle cabinet and it clanks. I've tried adjusting it and it doesn't help.
:(

I have a parlor cabinet that clanks as well. The wheel rubs. I'm not strong enough to get the nut loose to see if I can move it.

redpurselady 10-15-2010 12:30 PM

Fellow treadle users - does the treadle base (not the actual machine) need any type of maintenance? I'm new to treadling but hope to catch up as soon as Billy services my "Cleo".

vintagemotif 10-15-2010 02:11 PM

Originally Posted by Miz Johnny

Originally Posted by vintagemotif

Originally Posted by Lostn51
I did notice it had a bobbin winder on the machine also. I wonder if it was an option for the two spool.....

Billy

The "bobbin' winder is for winding thread from one spool onto the spool that is used in the spool case (can). If you only have one spool of thread (huge spool), you can wind some of the thread onto the spool that is used in the can. I like the fact that I will not have to wind bobbins, instead it is a spool.

I remember you saying that you hoped to treadle your Two Spool. Just wanted to let you know that the only treadle cabinet I've found that is the same bed size as the Two Spool is the National Rotary.