Singer model 15 - AJ?

Old 03-19-2022, 06:36 AM

Default Singer model 15 - AJ?

First off I want to preface this by saying I am completely new to vintage machines and have very little knowledge, other than what I've read up on the internet. I'm also new to QB and I'm not sure if I'm using this forum correctly and apologize in advance if not. Just don't know where else to turn.

I recently purchased a Singer 15, 1949 model. It has an AJ model # and I'm not exactly sure how to tell what it is. I'm assuming it's a 15-91 but I could be completely wrong.

I could tell the wiring needs to be redone, which wasn't hard seeing how the guy had a mountain of electrical tape over exposed wires. He did plug it in at his house and the machine sewed beautifully so I assume the motor is in good condition as it worked and sounded gorgeous.

My model # is AJ296747.

Old 03-19-2022, 07:23 AM

Welcome. There were several different domestic models of the 15. Frequently someone will think they have a 15-91 when they actually have a 15-90 or one of the other domestic models. The 15-91 has a potted motor as seen at https://ismacs.net/singer_sewing_mac...g-machine.html There is an excellent tutorial on rewiring a potted motor at http://vssmb.blogspot.com/2011/12/ho...rt-1-wire.html

The 15-90 has an external motor and uses a belt.

We like pictures. In order to post pictures on Quilting Board, you will probably need to reduce or compress the picture to a file size that is smaller than 2MB. How to post images can be found at https://www.quiltingboard.com/attach...020-01-17-.pdf
Don't forget to scroll over to the far right to find and click on the "Upload" button.

I have found that only the big red "Reply" button or "Quote" work to give me the paper clip icon to work for adding pictures.
https://www.quiltingboard.com/attach...p-location.jpg

Some additional info regarding reducing images at post #4 and images for the scroll and upload button can be found at #5 of quilt block ID?