Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Brother CS6000i Opinions?

  1. #1
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,080

    Brother CS6000i Opinions?

    I'm planning to get a simple sewing machine, to teach my DD and DGD sewing. My old Kenmore keeps coughing at me and I'd just rather not teach, on my Janome (just in case! LOL). Have read many, many reviews and it seems most people love the Brother CS6000i . . . but then there are some reviews, which claim it's terrible. Knowing bad reviews are often posted, by people who don't really follow instructions, I'd like to know what people here think of it. Has anyone had one of these machines break or fall apart, prematurely?

    Thanks for your opinion!

  2. #2
    Senior Member drgranny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    slaton, texas
    Posts
    729
    Blog Entries
    1
    Isn't this a machine that also does embrodery? If it is the one I think it is, I have about 10 friends who bought this machine last year. They all love it.

  3. #3
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,080
    Quote Originally Posted by drgranny View Post
    Isn't this a machine that also does embrodery? If it is the one I think it is, I have about 10 friends who bought this machine last year. They all love it.
    It has some built-in decorative stitches but I don't think this one is considered an embroidery machine.

  4. #4
    Super Member Nanamoms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    MS
    Posts
    3,175
    Blog Entries
    1
    No this is not a combo machine. I just talked to my SM dealer about this very machine and was told that it is a great one for the price. There is also the cs6000T which I was told was the same machine. The 6000i isn't going be manufacture anymore but parts will be readily available because so many are interchangeable with all the Brothers. I ended up purchasing the 6000T because I could get a Refurbished one and save a lot of $$. Both my other Brother machines were refurbished and I've had very little problem with them in over 5 years.

    I bought this machine for the exact purpose that you are consdiering. Although I have several vintage machines and let my granddaughter sew on my 15--91, I'm going to teach her how to use this one.

    Good luck with your decision.

  5. #5
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,080
    Thanks, Nanamoms! That's just what I was hoping to hear/read! It sounds like the perfect machine, for general sewing . . . but negative reviews always worry me. I'm going to order it from WalMart, so that IF anything goes wrong with it, it can be easily returned.

    I did some measuring and it sounds as if I can just use my Kenmore cabinet, for the Brother machine. The Kenmore is a tad larger, so there'll be a bit more "open" space . . . but I'll make it work!

    Have to admit, I feel kinda sorry for the Kenmore, being booted out of its cabinet and put into storage.

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,217
    My DD has had one for several years. It is a nice little machine. she makes quilts on it and most recently a carry-on bag out of decorator fabric. It sewed several thicknesses easily.

  7. #7
    Super Member Teacup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    2,023
    I've had one for about 4 years. It does a great job and is a offers a lot for the money. I've not had any problems with it, and it's easy to learn and use. For that price point I think it is a deal. Only thing better might be a nice vintage Singer but if you want the variety of stitches and an easy button holer this Brother is great.

  8. #8
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,080
    Thanks! Sounds like just what I need. Aside from teaching my DD and DGD to sew, I'll also be doing a bit of sewing, with a couple of 6 year old girls, this summer. I'm hoping my DD will be comfortable enough with the machine by then, to help with the younger ones.

  9. #9
    Super Member MaryStoaks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    La Quinta, CA
    Posts
    3,886
    I had one for several years and liked it so much that I bought one for my GD and my neice too. They are beginer sewers and I wanted to give them a machine that was easy to use. I gave mine to a dear friend when her machine died ( I really have too many good machines). They all love the machine and have had no problems with it.
    Mary

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    611
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Neesie View Post
    I'm planning to get a simple sewing machine, to teach my DD and DGD sewing. My old Kenmore keeps coughing at me and I'd just rather not teach, on my Janome (just in case! LOL). Have read many, many reviews and it seems most people love the Brother CS6000i . . . but then there are some reviews, which claim it's terrible. Knowing bad reviews are often posted, by people who don't really follow instructions, I'd like to know what people here think of it. Has anyone had one of these machines break or fall apart, prematurely?


    Thanks for your opinion!

    I have this machine and I really like mine. I am teaching my GD to sew on this machine. It has 3 different speeds which is helpful for beginners. I have an extension table that is also very helpful. I mostly use my for piecing but have used it to quilt on also. It is very light weight so that makes it easy to move around. I just bought the new 160th anniversary of the Singer and I have noticed that most of the feet and accessories are interchangeable with the Bother CS6000i and I really like that. I seem to have the best quilting when I use a size 11 needle. It made kind of a chunking noise when I put in a size 14 needle. It comes with a size 11. I really think you would be very pleased with the Brother CS6000i.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.