Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
AHA! (kind of long, but it gets to quilting, I promise!) >

AHA! (kind of long, but it gets to quilting, I promise!)

AHA! (kind of long, but it gets to quilting, I promise!)

Old 12-05-2010, 09:23 PM

I was just reading the post from a lady who's friend stabbed herself with her snips trying to save them from falling...I replied with a post about how I'm a Medical Lab Tech, and you *never* want to try to catch a falling, dirty needle, so it's my instinct to "spread 'em" if something sharp falls (my husband likes to call it my crab move, because my hands go up, I spread my legs and feet and kind of scuttle backwards to get away from it...lol). Then I got to thinking about how I'm missing my work, since I'm on maternity leave until April 2011 (since February of this year). A large part of my job is taking blood, I enjoy it, and I'm quite proficient with a needle, if I do say so myself. There are many aspects to my job, but I like that part the best. I swear, I'm not a sadist...I don't get joy out of hurting people or anything :lol: , I just love what I do and do it well (Really! Most patients tell me they barely felt my poke)

Then I got to thinking about quilting...I only recently started, late August of this year. But I LOVE it. And I think I'm learning pretty quickly. I don't have any family that sews, outside of basic mending, no friends that quilt or sew. My mother crochets, and I did pick that up, but she's into intricate "specialty" crocheting, and I never get more fancy than a scalloped border on a blanket made up of single and double crochets and I have no desire to. But I decided I wanted to make a quilt one day and OH, I want to do it ALL!