Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 64

Thread: Featherweight Friends - Will you tell me your opinion on which 1/4" foot is best.

  1. #1
    Senior Member gailmitchell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fredericton, NB
    Posts
    375
    I have just been gifted a Featherweight from an elderly quilting friend of mine. I hasn't been used in years but I'm told it works fine. I came with one foot.

    I searched on this board for recommended 1/4" feet for the featherweight but I couldn't come to any solid conclusion.

    I know that any low shank foot will probably work, but I don't want to order one online and then wait for it come come in, and not be pleased with it... Then wait again while I order another....

    Your opinions would be appreciated.... I'll be looking to order two feet, one with the side bar, and one with out.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,108
    Blog Entries
    1
    Ooooo She is a beauty!! Lucky you :D:D:D

  3. #3
    Junior Member ladyinpurple135's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by gailmitchell
    I have just been gifted a Featherweight from an elderly quilting friend of mine. I hasn't been used in years but I'm told it works fine. I came with one foot.

    I searched on this board for recommended 1/4" feet for the featherweight but I couldn't come to any solid conclusion.

    I know that any low shank foot will probably work, but I don't want to order one online and then wait for it come come in, and not be pleased with it... Then wait again while I order another....

    Your opinions would be appreciated.... I'll be looking to order two feet, one with the side bar, and one with out.

    You are one lucky dog! And I mean that in the most wonderful way - to be gifted a FW and from probably the original owner - WOW! I have 3 (can you say obsession here!) and love them all. I found a 1/4" foot on eBay and am hoping that it will work for me. You just need a low shank foot that screws on. I am watching a group of 14 snap-on feet that includes the adapter on eBay at the moment and am hoping that I can afford the whole set. If I could locate the foot I have already purchased I would take a look to make sure it is the right one. Check around where you live and see if there is someone who fixes FWs, etc. We have a local (as in about 30 miles away) guy who is a vendor at lots of our local shows - he repairs and also sells FWs and other goodies. Here is his website: http://www.featherweight-poppy.com/ You might contact him if you feel more comfortable that way. He is a great vendor and I'm gioing to have him take a look at one of my babies that needs a little tender touch.

    Personally I do not like the 1/4" foot with the side bar - but it is a personal choice. I have a friend who likes them - they just get in my way. If you've tried them and like them then go for it.

    Hope this helps.
    Sandy in Mooresville, NC

  4. #4
    Super Member AnnieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    North Essex, England
    Posts
    1,108
    What a beautiful gift. Good luck with finding feet.

  5. #5
    Senior Member gailmitchell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fredericton, NB
    Posts
    375
    Thanks so much for the very informative email. I'm checking out the website.... I snowbird in SC, so I just might be able to get to NC to visit this FW guy.

    There is absolutely nobody around here (eastern Canada) who maintains FW, so I'm glad for the lead...especially since we will be in the area next month..

    I have only recently come to like a 1/4 foot with a bar. I use it quite a bit on my Juki TL98q because it's the only 1/4 foot I have.. So I'm liking it more and more as I use it...

    A blogging friend said she has a 1/4 inch foot on her fw that she doesn't like. She is going to get me more info.

  6. #6
    Junior Member ladyinpurple135's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    110
    Featherweight Poppy has a list of the shows he's vending at on his website - maybe you can be down here for one or more of them. He's over in Salisbury - sort of northeast of
    Charlotte. You don't much of a choice in 1/4" feet for the FW - I've actually only seen one kind - but - quick thought here - if I do get the set including the snap-on adapter I might be able to use any snap-on foot - and I really, really like the one for my old Pfaff 1473. Another quick thought - maybe I only need the adapter? Hmmm. . . . This might be another way to go - I'll have to write back when/if I get this set and see if I can make other snap-on feet work.

    Sandy in Mooresville, NC

  7. #7
    Super Member icon17's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Washington,State
    Posts
    1,692
    Quote Originally Posted by gailmitchell
    I have just been gifted a Featherweight from an elderly quilting friend of mine. I hasn't been used in years but I'm told it works fine. I came with one foot.

    I searched on this board for recommended 1/4" feet for the featherweight but I couldn't come to any solid conclusion.

    I know that any low shank foot will probably work, but I don't want to order one online and then wait for it come come in, and not be pleased with it... Then wait again while I order another....

    Your opinions would be appreciated.... I'll be looking to order two feet, one with the side bar, and one with out.
    Lucky Lucky YOU. 8-)

  8. #8
    Senior Member gailmitchell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fredericton, NB
    Posts
    375
    I love my 1/4" feet for my Pfaff, 1471... I'd love to know if the adapter works. I saw that listing on Ebay. There are a few sets on there.

    Yes, I see that he is going to a few shows. I may be able to get to the one in Lancaster SC....

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sturbridge, Ma
    Posts
    4,017
    I am not aware a 1/4 foot is made for the featherweight.
    However, LittleFoot is made for the featherweight.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    BC
    Posts
    722
    You can take the adapter off the Pfaff and use the 1/4 inch foot from the Pfaff. I have a 1473 and several featherweights and if I want to use the fw, that is what I do.

Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.