Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Janome or Juki, need opinions

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    142

    Janome or Juki, need opinions

    I am wanting to buy a machine for piecing and straight line quilting ( and possibly FMQ someday) I think I have narrowed it down to a Juki 2000 QI or a Janome 1600p-QC.
    The Juki comes with several feet and an extension table, which is a plus. I would appreciate any opinions on these machines.

  2. #2
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    14,682
    I recalled your earlier thread ...
    Janome 1600p question

    Can't help you with any Juki info.

    I am sure you will hear more of the same about the Janome 1600.
    Keep in mind, that it is not the newest of Janome models
    ... if that is an important issue to you!
    Last edited by QuiltE; 04-14-2017 at 11:05 AM.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  3. #3
    Junior Member catsden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    southeast Idaho
    Posts
    234
    I have the Juki TL 2010 and I love it. I use it for FMQ and sewing on my bindings.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3,033
    I have the Juki 2010 and would rush out and purchase another one if it every broke. 5 years and going strong with little maintenance. There's lots of info on the board about the Juki if you do a search. Probably about the Janome too.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Rosemere, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    156
    My vote goes to the Juki 2010. This is one great machine! I use it for piecing and quilting, both straight-line and FMQ. I've used all types of thread on it. I've done FMQ on five layers: top, foundation muslin, two layers of batting and backing, with no problem whatsoever. Though I have to admit that that quilt was quite heavy ... The walking foot is a bit clunky but works well, and I also have a stitch-in-the-ditch foot that is a real gem.

  6. #6
    Super Member quilts4charity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Albany, Georgia
    Posts
    1,573
    I have a Juki TL98Q that I've had for almost 10 years, love her so much and I can't tell you how many quilts she's done..probably hundreds...I quilt for charity!!!!

  7. #7
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5,666
    I would go with juki as they pretty much make most of the straight stitch machines out there. If it has more accessories that will save you the headache of aquiring them later as well
    Brother XL-3500i, SQ-9050, Dreamweaver XE6200D, Juki MO-2000QVP

  8. #8
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    41,748
    Blog Entries
    42
    I vote for the Juki as well, a real work horse
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak THINK
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  9. #9
    Junior Member mmac71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Middle of Oklahoma
    Posts
    157
    Blog Entries
    1
    I bought a Juki tl2000 QI a couple of months ago and love it. I wanted a manual vs computerized. It has a 9 inch throat, auto thread cutter, knee lift, presser foot control so I can raise it for quilting. In short I love it and it is not all plastic. Also came with a large extension table. I got it from Sewingmachineplus.com

  10. #10
    Super Member Lv2sew2011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Perry, Oklahoma
    Posts
    4,397
    Blog Entries
    21
    I just traded in the Juki 200QI for a king quilter I was not happy with the Juki 2000 QI the neck I think that's what they called it was just to darn small for FMQ...Other than that it was OK....
    (`v)
    `*..*
    .*).*)
    (.(. (..`..♥`..♥ Donna♥`..♥

    http://countrycottagequiltsandcrafts.blogspot.com/

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.