Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Opinions Needed

  1. #1
    Junior Member Jerseyrayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Brimfield MA
    Posts
    109
    Blog Entries
    3

    Opinions Needed

    This is my quilt top using http://www.incolororder.com/p/block-of-month.html. I have the blocks done using fat quarters I had in my stash. My problem is borders. I was planning on using solids for the borders, I would like opinions on what colors would you use? I am thinking a 1 1/2" or 2" border then a wider border. I don't have any of the fabrics I used larger than a fat quarter and I ran out of a couple. Any help would be appreciated.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Jerseyrayne; 03-14-2013 at 05:10 AM.

  2. #2
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    20,452
    I think I would like a small border the size of the corner blocks in the yellow and then a larger tan border? If that doesn't match where you want to use it, I would use 2 different blues.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,211
    I would do it in black. Black just makes quilts stand out, I think.

  4. #4
    Super Member sweetpea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    southeast Kansas
    Posts
    1,457
    Love the quilt I'm with you, unsure of what color for the border. I think just about any color will work with all the choices of colors in the quilt. how about dark brown, would blend well with all the colors and not have to match.
    Scrapy quilts have more love in them.

  5. #5
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,664
    Blog Entries
    2
    I don't care for strip borders so I would add a wide border the same as the background. Your quilt top is nice! It has a sharp modern look to it.
    Got fabric?

  6. #6
    Super Member CorgiNole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Posts
    1,078
    I think I would float it first with a narrow white border and then a wider blue print.

    Cheers, K

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fort White, Fl
    Posts
    2,636
    Blog Entries
    1
    I would use a yellow for the first border and the blue the color in the block or close to it for the larger border. I think this would really bring out your blocks.
    A friend is someone who knows all about you and loves you anyway.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    New York City/Manhattan
    Posts
    1,274
    Quote Originally Posted by CorgiNole View Post
    I think I would float it first with a narrow white border and then a wider blue print.

    Cheers, K
    this was what I was thinking, too. Though you might want to add another thin strip between the white and the blue print.
    Laurie in NYC

  9. #9
    Junior Member Jerseyrayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Brimfield MA
    Posts
    109
    Blog Entries
    3
    I am sorry the colors aren't showing up exact, because the background fabric is a muslin, not white, and the dark fabric is a dk navy blue. Also the light blue with small goldish design is actually a grayish blue color. Thanks for all the great ideas will let you know what I end up doing. I have got to go buy some more fabric! yeah, not that I need it, but I don't have any solids. For some reason I just never know what to buy for solids for my stash. Thanks again

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    321
    I would use a white strip the same size as the sashing, and look at a deep dark red for a border about 3" wide.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.