Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Opinions Needed

  1. #1
    Junior Member Jerseyrayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Brimfield MA
    Posts
    110
    Blog Entries
    3

    Opinions Needed

    This is my quilt top using http://www.incolororder.com/p/block-of-month.html. I have the blocks done using fat quarters I had in my stash. My problem is borders. I was planning on using solids for the borders, I would like opinions on what colors would you use? I am thinking a 1 1/2" or 2" border then a wider border. I don't have any of the fabrics I used larger than a fat quarter and I ran out of a couple. Any help would be appreciated.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Jerseyrayne; 03-14-2013 at 05:10 AM.

  2. #2
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    29,862
    I think I would like a small border the size of the corner blocks in the yellow and then a larger tan border? If that doesn't match where you want to use it, I would use 2 different blues.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,211
    I would do it in black. Black just makes quilts stand out, I think.

  4. #4
    Super Member sweetpea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    southeast Kansas
    Posts
    1,463
    Love the quilt I'm with you, unsure of what color for the border. I think just about any color will work with all the choices of colors in the quilt. how about dark brown, would blend well with all the colors and not have to match.
    Scrapy quilts have more love in them.

  5. #5
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    I don't care for strip borders so I would add a wide border the same as the background. Your quilt top is nice! It has a sharp modern look to it.
    Got fabric?

  6. #6
    Super Member CorgiNole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Posts
    1,078
    I think I would float it first with a narrow white border and then a wider blue print.

    Cheers, K

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fort White, Fl
    Posts
    2,673
    Blog Entries
    1
    I would use a yellow for the first border and the blue the color in the block or close to it for the larger border. I think this would really bring out your blocks.
    A friend is someone who knows all about you and loves you anyway.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    New York City/Manhattan
    Posts
    1,324
    Quote Originally Posted by CorgiNole View Post
    I think I would float it first with a narrow white border and then a wider blue print.

    Cheers, K
    this was what I was thinking, too. Though you might want to add another thin strip between the white and the blue print.
    Laurie in NYC

  9. #9
    Junior Member Jerseyrayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Brimfield MA
    Posts
    110
    Blog Entries
    3
    I am sorry the colors aren't showing up exact, because the background fabric is a muslin, not white, and the dark fabric is a dk navy blue. Also the light blue with small goldish design is actually a grayish blue color. Thanks for all the great ideas will let you know what I end up doing. I have got to go buy some more fabric! yeah, not that I need it, but I don't have any solids. For some reason I just never know what to buy for solids for my stash. Thanks again

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    373
    I would use a white strip the same size as the sashing, and look at a deep dark red for a border about 3" wide.

  11. #11
    Super Member irishrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cadillac, MI
    Posts
    6,582
    Blog Entries
    19
    I'd do the narrow strip in a dark blue, then the wider one in the print of your choice.

  12. #12
    Super Member carslo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    soCal
    Posts
    1,527
    Blog Entries
    5
    A dark border first to frame the quilt - like a matte on a piece of art work and then a flying geese border with the muslin and any of the leftovers from the quilt and then another black border. That is what I would do
    A bed without a quilt is like the night sky without stars.

    http://californiaquilting.blogspot.com/

  13. #13
    Power Poster gabeway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    10,488
    A 1 1/2" inner yellow border and 3-5" dark outer border would look great.
    Wayne & Gabriele, the married quilters.

  14. #14
    Senior Member Sarah in Brooklyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    409
    I think I would do a neutral inner border - soft grey or tan or soft yellow, and then an outer border in a deep red or burgundy to pick up those darker shades in the blocks. It's really nice! Whatever you do will be wonderful.

  15. #15
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    9,664
    Blog Entries
    31
    A narrow dark red for the first and that wonderful yellow in the quilt for the second. Lovely quilt. peace EDIT: After looking at it more maybe one of the medium grays for the second border would be cool with a narrow red!
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  16. #16
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    15,265
    Blog Entries
    1
    Do you have enough FQs of any one color way to piece the borders? I think that would look smashing. First a narrow red, then a wider yellow or blue.
    Martina
    Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Fabric!

  17. #17
    Senior Member pinkcastle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington state
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by gabeway View Post
    A 1 1/2" inner yellow border and 3-5" dark outer border would look great.
    Ditto! Nice quilt top!

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Campbelltown NSW Australia
    Posts
    178
    Quote Originally Posted by Lee in Richmond View Post
    I would use a white strip the same size as the sashing, and look at a deep dark red for a border about 3" wide.
    Hi

    I was thinking th yellow/tan for the samll border and then depending on the room it is going in you could put eith the blue or dark red as your larger boarder to make those colours stand out.

  19. #19
    Junior Member Jerseyrayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Brimfield MA
    Posts
    110
    Blog Entries
    3
    I love all your suggestions, and I am still trying to decide. I went to Joann's, and picked up 2 yds of a Kona dk red, they didn't have much to choose from. What is your favorite solid cotton and where do you buy it? Also do you think the quilt is too busy to do flying geese on the border?

  20. #20
    Super Member sewingsuz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,897
    I would use a Wine or the red color to match that red color in the quilt and then a dark blue to match the darker blue. That would make it stand out.
    Suzanne
    Asking a seamstress to mend is like asking Picasso to paint your garage.

  21. #21
    Member Alli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    27
    I'm with BellaBoo on this cool modern quilt top you have created. Let those blocks float on the solid muslin background.

  22. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    47
    I would use a skinny Yellow and wider blue

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.