Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Opinions on sashing, cornerstones, borders, please?

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,121

    Opinions on sashing, cornerstones, borders, please?

    This is the quilt I began during Virtual Quilting Weekend, the one designed to use up the HSTs made from scraps of another project. I fixed my pinwheel problem (to my satisfaction, anyway) but had to add some 4 patch blocks because I'm didn't have enough tan to make more HSTs big enough for these pinwheels and can't find more of it (not sure what it is; I save all my receipts and think it's either Country Classics or Kona, purchased from Jo-Ann's last year, but they don't have it now and I can't find it elsewhere). I'm okay with the 4 patch blocks alternating with the pinwheels but I also meant to use the tan as cornerstones and now can't. So here's my 1st question: Failing the tan, I've pretty much decided on the mottled brown for the cornerstones. It's that or the print...or no cornerstones, and I really like cornerstones. Which works best? 2nd question: I had always intended to use this leafy off white as sashing between blocks, thinking it picks up the white vine in the print, but am now wondering if it's too stark a contrast, since it appears no where else in the quilt? 3rd question: How about this solid orange, to match the tiny orange leaf in the print, as my first, narrow (1 inch maybe) border, and then a wider border (4 inches) out of the print? The orange matches better than it shows here, I think.

    The first photo shows the white leafy print on three sides of the block, the other white between the blocks is my white bed sheet underneath.
    Name:  DSC02079.JPG
Views: 339
Size:  1.22 MBName:  DSC02078.JPG
Views: 363
Size:  1.23 MBName:  DSC02081.JPG
Views: 350
Size:  1.14 MBName:  DSC02085.JPG
Views: 353
Size:  1.14 MB

    Is all this clear as mud? Thanks for your opinions and suggestions!
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by mme3924; 02-28-2014 at 10:21 AM.

  2. #2
    Super Member feline fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,608
    I adore your WOW (white on white) print as the sashing and the dark brown as cornerstones. The cornerstones by matching the outer frame of fabric on your blocks will lend a unifying effect and may also form a secondary pattern once the quilt is all done. If you introduce the orange, do so sparingly. The non closeup shots of your leaf fabric that has orange doesn't really show or read orange from a distance. the few orange dots on that fabric tend to not register. Right now your quilt has a very "elegant" and "formal" feel to it with mostly neutrals and only a few colors along with the white sash and brown cornerstones. If I were to introduce that orange I would go no wider than 1" wide inner border. I would be inclined to even narrower on it if I would even use it at all. I think once you get the center part all assembled would be the time to audition and decide if you want to use the orange or maybe just put a narrow brown inner border and the leaf print outer border. This will be a very nice quilt when you are done.

  3. #3
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,822
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like everything about the quilt except I think the white creates too stark a contrast. I think a cream color (could still be tone-on-tone) would work better. I would be tempted to tea dye the tone-on-tone fabric to bring down the contrast.

  4. #4
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    33,326
    Blog Entries
    16
    i like the wow with the brown cornerstones
    Nancy in western NY

  5. #5
    Super Member nanna-up-north's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,625
    Your white-on-white fabric gives a very modern look. I assume that's what you're wanting. If you were to use more of a cream color, it would soften things down..... less modern..... more blending of the whole look. I do think the orange will really make your print pop out..... Good choices..... looks good to me.
    --- Jean

    I'd rather spend money on my quilting hobby than the therapist.... I'm probably $$$ ahead.... and I'm happy!!

  6. #6
    Super Member LynnVT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    1,242
    I see the white in the vines of the print. So it's not introducing another color. I agree with Nanna that it has a fresh, modern look to it. I'd also go with the dark mottled cornerstones which makes the center blocks stand out more than it would with something like orange in them. Nice quilt. Actually, the four patches make a nice complement to the pinwheels.
    "The business of life is making memories. In the end, it is all we have." Butler Charlie Carson, Downton Abbey, season 4, episode 3, PBS.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    427
    I would personally like a cream on cream, but that's just me. You've done a good job with the blocks.

  8. #8
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    15,440
    I like the dark brown cornerstones. I think they help hold the blocks together.

    I like the blocks.

    I am not crazy about the WOW sashing because the contrast is too much for me - but it's your quilt. I would prefer something more compatble with the backgrounds of the blocks.

    If you want to use orange, maybe as a piping on one of the outer borders.

  9. #9
    Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The middle of an IL cornfield
    Posts
    6,998
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'm a fan of high contrast so your white looks good to me. I think it is already obvious there are widely differing opinions on this one. You'll have to just go with what looks good to you.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,121
    Thank you all for your comments and suggestions!

    Just as added info, I did audition some other neutrals (solids) as sashing but don't have any on hand that work. They are either too cool, are not the same tone as the background of the print, or are just too different. I might be able to find a solid that closely matches the background of the print or tea dye the WOW, as Prism suggests, though that's not something I've ever done.

    Feline, your point about the orange not showing up except in the closeup is a good one. I had thought I might just do a flange of the orange. Although the only flange I've attempted was a disaster I think I can surely figure out how to do it correctly. But if I decide to do a narrow border, I will limit it to one inch or less.

    Again, thanks for all your wisdom, ideas, compliments and encouragement! I appreciate your "second set of eyes" (multiple in this case) more than I can say!
    Last edited by mme3924; 02-28-2014 at 03:02 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.