Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 49

Thread: opinions vs. rules

  1. #11
    Super Member Jan in VA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Central Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.
    Posts
    6,143
    Let it be known to all reading this thread that any "teaching" response made by me comes with the disclaimer "this and $2.50 will get you a cuppa....".

    Jan in VA
    Jan in VA
    Living in the foothills
    peacefully colors my world.

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    538
    As a total newbie to both quilting and this board, I have found that there are so many differing techniques out there that I have to literally "go check it out" on youtube to find if it's something that makes sense to me. As for how the information is presented, well, that's to be expected on any forum. There are those who ARE experts, there are those who are PROFESSED experts, and there are those who just go with the flow, don't claim to be anything other than who they are, and are a wealth of good information. One can usually tell the difference

    For the most part, I can see that there are many personalities here, but rare is the one that may come across as your run-of-the-mill feather-ruffler-know-it-all. No matter. If I can see through the personality that the quality of the information is something I can use, I can usually ignore what might come across as feather-ruffling.

  3. #13
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    Safety is my only hard fast rule. Wear shoes, use a safety tool when using a rotary cutter, and turn off the machine when changing the needle.
    Got fabric?

  4. #14
    Super Member JoanneS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    AZ and CT
    Posts
    4,888
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks for the heads up about giving advice. I think I'm probably guilty of sounding like my way is a 'rule' when I don't mean to sound that way. I will be careful in the future to phrase advice as advice - one voice among many!

  5. #15
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    6,635
    Blog Entries
    31
    I am always amazed at how much I learn from 'new' quilters. Having no preconcieved ideas they just jump in and do their best and along the way create their own methods not even realizing just how creative they are.

    Yes, there are no hard and fast rules but a universe of suggestions. As long as you can get your cuts right, seams straight, good tension on your machine and no waves in a bias cut, you are good to go.

    The four basic trials of quilting.

    None of which I have accomplished!
    peace
    Last edited by ube quilting; 02-01-2013 at 04:00 PM.
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  6. #16
    Junior Member cad_queen_2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    soutwestern ontario
    Posts
    136
    Quote Originally Posted by nhweaver View Post
    Each of us comes here with varying backgrounds, skills - this "main" category response to any post is a good example of the many ways we use to do the same thing. Ask about quilting thread, and you will get 15+ differing responses, ask about fabrics, and you will get 15+ differing responses. We all learn from our experiences, and we all love to share our disasters, and our successes. We are a wonderful group of people. But the only rules I can think of are:

    Keep your fingers away from the rotary blade,
    Keep your fingers away from the sewing machine needle,
    If you drop a pin on the floor, it will land pointy side up,
    Do not sew after drinking alot of alcoholic beverages (learned that one the hard way)
    The dog/cat/gerbil/rabbit/whatever will sit on the quilt if it is within their reach.
    Thanks for the giggles, and the spit-take, (as I wipe off my screen). Although I have never tried to break your rule #4, I will remember to obey it. Rule #5, my dog will always lay on my quilt when it is in the hoop and i set it down, (maybe because it is a little fluffier when it is only basted?)

    I usually tell people, "this is how I do it, (and why), but you can do it any way you want."

  7. #17
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    8,860
    Just as personal thought, whenever I hear someone speak , write etc... I assume its their opinion or view on their collection of information on what ever subject matter might happen to be.

  8. #18
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    2,597
    Quote Originally Posted by ube quilting View Post
    I am always amazed at how much I learn from 'new' quilters. Having no preconcieved ideas they just jump in and do their best and along the way create their own methods not even realizing just how creative they are.

    Yes, there are no hard and fast rules but a universe of suggestions. As long as you can get your cuts right, seams straight, good tension on your machine and no waves in a bias cut, you are good to go.

    The four basic trials of quilting.

    None of which I have accomplished!
    peace
    Yes, I have a younger friend who jumped into quilting with both feet and she is fearless. She also gets tons of quilts done with a full time job and a young family. (I do suspect she only sleeps three hours a night). My point is ...she has no rules, she puts crazy colors together and she is so successful.

  9. #19
    Super Member Cybrarian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay Area, Florida
    Posts
    1,486
    Some of us who find some things a little more difficult are all of us left handers. Deb Tucker is great about showing how to do certain things with her tools left handed and Jenny Doan does also. We go through life adapting and adjusting and I don't expect things to be shown "the left handed way" but it sure is great when teachers on video take the time to do that. I say that because at times if a newbie seems really confused about certain things left handedness may be part of the issue. We're all newbies in one area or another; when I read widely differing explanations or opinions I'm glad because it gives me choices to find what works for me. I appreciate all I've learned from this Board!
    Come to Me and I will give you rest--Jesus.

  10. #20
    Super Member liking quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Southern Minnesota
    Posts
    2,085
    Blog Entries
    2
    I've learned almost everything I know about quilting from all of you, and as a relative "newbie", I never felt there was anyone saying there was only one way to get the result desired. The "no quilt police here" message always seemed to come through loud & clear! I tended to get great entertainment from the threads where a subject polarized quilters when both sides of an issue brought out the strong feelings. I'm one who is and always will be grateful for all of you who are very generous with sharing your experience, knowlege, and expertise. Sew on!
    Mavis

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.