Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49

Thread: opinions vs. rules

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    1,265

    opinions vs. rules

    We all have opinions, and preferred techniques, for and about quilting. We've adapted them because we've experienced that they work better than other techniques, or because they're the only technique we've tried or know about, or because "They" said you/I had to do it that way. I'm going out on a limb and say that there is almost always more than one way to do something successfully...but...different strokes for different folks, so we have each adopted what we think works best.

    With all the respect in the world for each of you, I suggest that when we want to help other quilters, particularly new quilters, we each give our opinions as opinions or preferred techniques...and not as rules...Let the others know what the options are and even why something works well, so that they can make their own minds up about what they want to adopt as their own technique.

    Again - I mean no disrespect for anyone on the board, and want newer quilters to know the options and be able to make informed decisions about techniques so that quilting is fun and not a chore. I appreciate your listening/reading.
    Kate

  2. #2
    Super Member feline fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,443
    I think most of us have made it abundently clear that there are NO hard fast rules for quilting. I usually use the term "it is best practice to..." Like it is best practice to test your marking tool before using it, It is best practice to test a fabric for color fastness". etc. Rarely have I seen a poster comment "you should always..." Or "you should Never" and if a poster does she or he is usually promptly corrected that "there are no rules". Unless of course you are entering into a juryed quilt shows where they do have specific rules about certain things but not in how to go about accomplishing them. There can be a rule that the quilt must have a hanging sleeve that measures 6" but there are several ways the maker can accomplish that. There can be a judged rule that binding miters should be sewn closed. Again nobody is forcing the quilter to do this, they can leave the miters unsewn but they will lose points for it.
    Last edited by feline fanatic; 02-01-2013 at 11:39 AM.

  3. #3
    Super Member seamstome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,339
    I read a quote the other day. Paraphrased--There isn't one RIGHT way to do anything but there may be only one way that gets you the right result on a consistent basis.

  4. #4
    Super Member ghostrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4,216
    Most people here speak from their own experience when it comes to quilting, and most people here listen with that in mind. The audience you need to address does not read this message board.

    So, tell us ktbb, did someone just call you out for doing something the "wrong" way??
    The Earth without art is just "Eh".

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    1,265
    nope - no one called me out...but on at least two occasions in the last two days, once today, I've seen statements indicating that the way defined was the only option...I've talked to enough new quilters to know that these kind of statements lead to confusion. I'm guessing that the writers in both these situations understand that there are other ways, but may not realize that the way their words are used give a different story than what they mean to give...
    Kate

  6. #6
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,368
    There are always many ways to do something, some work for me and some do not.I am a firm believer of what ever works!!!!!! I find everyone here to be just wonderful at giving there way of doing things I can not say enough great things!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. #7
    Junior Member QuiltnMyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Southern NSW Australia
    Posts
    173
    I very much agree with 'opinions' being just that. When I am asked to 'teach' a fellow quilter a technique that I find successful, I always emphasise that I am not a teacher, but I will willingly share my technique. It is just that - an opinion.
    Mary B

  8. #8
    Super Member nhweaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Delmarva Peninsula
    Posts
    1,168
    Blog Entries
    1
    Each of us comes here with varying backgrounds, skills - this "main" category response to any post is a good example of the many ways we use to do the same thing. Ask about quilting thread, and you will get 15+ differing responses, ask about fabrics, and you will get 15+ differing responses. We all learn from our experiences, and we all love to share our disasters, and our successes. We are a wonderful group of people. But the only rules I can think of are:

    Keep your fingers away from the rotary blade,
    Keep your fingers away from the sewing machine needle,
    If you drop a pin on the floor, it will land pointy side up,
    Do not sew after drinking alot of alcoholic beverages (learned that one the hard way)
    The dog/cat/gerbil/rabbit/whatever will sit on the quilt if it is within their reach.
    Last edited by nhweaver; 02-01-2013 at 01:42 PM.
    If life gives you lemons, make a margarita.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,658
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by ktbb View Post
    nope - no one called me out...but on at least two occasions in the last two days, once today, I've seen statements indicating that the way defined was the only option...I've talked to enough new quilters to know that these kind of statements lead to confusion. I'm guessing that the writers in both these situations understand that there are other ways, but may not realize that the way their words are used give a different story than what they mean to give...
    And now each of us that has posted in the last couple of days, thinks we are being called out. Perhaps a wake-up call?

    When I read a post asking for how-to's and why-for's I take it to mean, 'please tell me how you do it so I can adapt what I don't know into what will work for me.'

  10. #10
    Senior Member Weezy Rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    625
    The misunderstandings are unfortunate, but some people do speak and write in such a manner as to give the impression that their way is the only correct way.

    My IH is good at that. He was a project engineer/manager and he pontificates like his word is law. I've called him out a couple of times, and he swears that what he actually meant didn't sound like I thought it did. But as far as I'm concerned, it still sounded bossy. BTW - he writes in the same manner.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.