Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: HONEST opinions, please!!!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member cnolan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    FROM: Idaho. IN: Georgia
    Posts
    275
    Blog Entries
    1
    OK... here's the "scoop". I am swapping blocks with a fellow quilter here, and I really want to make her some nice blocks. After (literally!!!!) hours of searching online patterns, as well as MANY of my books, I found one that I wanted to try. The problem? It is PP, and I have not done that before. I have watched several tutorials, so I have the general idea, and it seems like I SHOULD be able to do it. Well.... I don't know if it is a mental defect, or a "blonde thing", or just a bad night, but I could NOT get even the first section done! :roll: :thumbdown: First, I started with the fabric wrong side up (I know better!!!). Then, I managed to cut the fabric wrong, so it didn't cover the corner. After a third attempt, my paper shredded almost as badly as my nerves, so I called it quits for a while.

    After a cool-down (playing games with my daughter), I did not have the nerve to try PP again yet, but had to do SOMETHING, so here is what I created. I have not sewn the outer rows on yet, as you can see. The narrow yellow strip is "floating" (folded double) and the yellow triangles are folded as well (planning on tacking them down with a bit of a curve to them. The very bottom green is supposed to be more "leaves", but I am really not sure about anything in that outer row.

    HELP PLEASE!!!! (and please be honest, even if it is brutal!!)

    this is upside down. green is supposed to be on the bottom! LOL
    Name:  Attachment-177663.jpe
Views: 20
Size:  67.6 KB
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  2. #2
    Junior Member cnolan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    FROM: Idaho. IN: Georgia
    Posts
    275
    Blog Entries
    1
    By the way... my swapping partner's theme is: "sunshine" theme blocks, a star or almost any block in yellow/warm colors.

    Does this block fit the bill?

  3. #3
    Senior Member marilynr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    814
    Try a very simple paper piecing sample first to get the
    "hang" of it. That helped me. But I still make mistakes & have rip out. But I still love it.
    Marilyn

  4. #4
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,036
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like what you made!

    Personally, I don't particularly care for PP and would use it only for a pattern that I really loved that couldn't be done any other way.

    Oh, and I think your block fits the parameters requested very well!

  5. #5
    Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17,478
    I love most of the block. The plain green seems to throw it off.

  6. #6
    Senior Member janedee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    canterbury uk
    Posts
    916
    lovely colours I think it matches the theme beautifully - on the PP problem every time I do it I always struggle with the first piece getting it the right way up but after that its ok - try something very simple first just to get some practice

  7. #7
    Super Member ChubbyBunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,066
    Blog Entries
    1
    Don't feel bad about your paper piecing problems. I consider myself to be a pretty smart person, but I could NOT for the life of me figure out paper piecing by reading about it in a book. I had to take a class and have someone show me. It was like a lightbulb went on when I saw the technique demonstrated. Ah Ha! So THAT's how it's done! :lol:

    Now for your block. I think it's pretty and I like the colors you chose. But don't give up on your desire to learn paper piecing. Try taking a class or find a local quilting friend who can show you. It will definitely be worth it. :D

  8. #8
    Super Member TonnieLoree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    La Grande, OR
    Posts
    2,459
    Honest opinion, so here goes, please don't send hate vibes: The first thing I saw was the bright pink flowers. My first impression was "what a pretty floral print". Then I read that the theme was Yellow, warm and sunshine. That is what led me to notice the yellow. I know you've put your heart into this, and overall, the block looks great. As far as fulfilling her requirements, I think you might have missed it a bit by using the bright pink flowers. No daggers please. I can only handle one per day, and I reached my limit first thing this morning. :-)

  9. #9
    Junior Member cnolan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    FROM: Idaho. IN: Georgia
    Posts
    275
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks for all the kind words and encouragement!!!

    Looking at the pic, I am thinking I should take out the green, replace it with the same fabric as in the outer rows, and imagine the yellow as the bottom (as pic is oriented now).

    What do you think?

  10. #10
    Junior Member cnolan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    FROM: Idaho. IN: Georgia
    Posts
    275
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by TonnieLoree
    No daggers please. I can only handle one per day, and I reached my limit first thing this morning. :-)
    LOL!!! If I ask for honest opinions, and even give permission for them to be "brutal", OF COURSE I am not going to send daggers! Your points are very valid, and I appreciate your input.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.