Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: HONEST opinions, please!!!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member cnolan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    FROM: Idaho. IN: Georgia
    Posts
    275
    Blog Entries
    1
    OK... here's the "scoop". I am swapping blocks with a fellow quilter here, and I really want to make her some nice blocks. After (literally!!!!) hours of searching online patterns, as well as MANY of my books, I found one that I wanted to try. The problem? It is PP, and I have not done that before. I have watched several tutorials, so I have the general idea, and it seems like I SHOULD be able to do it. Well.... I don't know if it is a mental defect, or a "blonde thing", or just a bad night, but I could NOT get even the first section done! :roll: :thumbdown: First, I started with the fabric wrong side up (I know better!!!). Then, I managed to cut the fabric wrong, so it didn't cover the corner. After a third attempt, my paper shredded almost as badly as my nerves, so I called it quits for a while.

    After a cool-down (playing games with my daughter), I did not have the nerve to try PP again yet, but had to do SOMETHING, so here is what I created. I have not sewn the outer rows on yet, as you can see. The narrow yellow strip is "floating" (folded double) and the yellow triangles are folded as well (planning on tacking them down with a bit of a curve to them. The very bottom green is supposed to be more "leaves", but I am really not sure about anything in that outer row.

    HELP PLEASE!!!! (and please be honest, even if it is brutal!!)

    this is upside down. green is supposed to be on the bottom! LOL
    Name:  Attachment-177663.jpe
Views: 32
Size:  67.6 KB
    Attached Images Attached Images


  2. #2
    Junior Member cnolan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    FROM: Idaho. IN: Georgia
    Posts
    275
    Blog Entries
    1
    By the way... my swapping partner's theme is: "sunshine" theme blocks, a star or almost any block in yellow/warm colors.

    Does this block fit the bill?

  3. #3
    Super Member marilynr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,411
    Blog Entries
    1
    Try a very simple paper piecing sample first to get the
    "hang" of it. That helped me. But I still make mistakes & have rip out. But I still love it.
    Marilyn

  4. #4
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    11,886
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like what you made!

    Personally, I don't particularly care for PP and would use it only for a pattern that I really loved that couldn't be done any other way.

    Oh, and I think your block fits the parameters requested very well!

  5. #5
    Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17,462
    I love most of the block. The plain green seems to throw it off.

  6. #6
    Super Member janedee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    canterbury uk
    Posts
    1,030
    lovely colours I think it matches the theme beautifully - on the PP problem every time I do it I always struggle with the first piece getting it the right way up but after that its ok - try something very simple first just to get some practice

  7. #7
    Super Member ChubbyBunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,064
    Don't feel bad about your paper piecing problems. I consider myself to be a pretty smart person, but I could NOT for the life of me figure out paper piecing by reading about it in a book. I had to take a class and have someone show me. It was like a lightbulb went on when I saw the technique demonstrated. Ah Ha! So THAT's how it's done! :lol:

    Now for your block. I think it's pretty and I like the colors you chose. But don't give up on your desire to learn paper piecing. Try taking a class or find a local quilting friend who can show you. It will definitely be worth it. :D

  8. #8
    Super Member TonnieLoree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    La Grande, OR
    Posts
    2,458
    Honest opinion, so here goes, please don't send hate vibes: The first thing I saw was the bright pink flowers. My first impression was "what a pretty floral print". Then I read that the theme was Yellow, warm and sunshine. That is what led me to notice the yellow. I know you've put your heart into this, and overall, the block looks great. As far as fulfilling her requirements, I think you might have missed it a bit by using the bright pink flowers. No daggers please. I can only handle one per day, and I reached my limit first thing this morning. :-)

  9. #9
    Junior Member cnolan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    FROM: Idaho. IN: Georgia
    Posts
    275
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks for all the kind words and encouragement!!!

    Looking at the pic, I am thinking I should take out the green, replace it with the same fabric as in the outer rows, and imagine the yellow as the bottom (as pic is oriented now).

    What do you think?

  10. #10
    Junior Member cnolan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    FROM: Idaho. IN: Georgia
    Posts
    275
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by TonnieLoree
    No daggers please. I can only handle one per day, and I reached my limit first thing this morning. :-)
    LOL!!! If I ask for honest opinions, and even give permission for them to be "brutal", OF COURSE I am not going to send daggers! Your points are very valid, and I appreciate your input.

  11. #11
    Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17,462
    Quote Originally Posted by cnolan
    Thanks for all the kind words and encouragement!!!

    Looking at the pic, I am thinking I should take out the green, replace it with the same fabric as in the outer rows, and imagine the yellow as the bottom (as pic is oriented now).

    What do you think?
    I think it would look great ! Your fabrics are sooooo pretty!! :thumbup:

  12. #12
    Senior Member maggie2122's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    832
    You have the yellow and warm colors down pat. Personally, I love the center block. I don't think it has to all be yellow and those flowers scream sunshine to me. But, I would change the two outer colors. I don't like the green or the green floral outside. Since the only other floral is in the center, it seems to take away from it. I would try something in the tan/brown family. Just my opinion, no darts or knives please. I really like the PP.

  13. #13
    Super Member Kitsapquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Port Orchard WA
    Posts
    2,291
    Very pretty. Really love that floral in the center!! Looks like you are going to have some wonderful blocks!

  14. #14
    Junior Member cnolan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    FROM: Idaho. IN: Georgia
    Posts
    275
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by maggie2122
    Just my opinion, no darts or knives please.
    LOL!! ALL opinions and suggestions are appreciated!! I don't always have to agree with them (although in this case, I have been considering a tan batik), but they are always welcome! I will sleep on it and probably change it lots tomorrow.

    Thanks everyone for your comments and suggestions!!!!

  15. #15
    Super Member feffertim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Desert Hot Springs Ca
    Posts
    2,522
    Blog Entries
    14
    I love the block but to be honest, I don't care for the outside border fabric that is light colored pattened. I think it does not go well with the other fabrics. As far as paper piecing, it takes a while to get the hang of it, but keep going, it's so worth it in the end. I love it now but at first I thought I would never get it right. Start with something very simple.

  16. #16
    Junior Member TheCloser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    253
    Overall I think you are off to a good start. At least you haven't given up. I have to do PP when I am in the "zone." I also cut my strips wider than the directions, sew and trim. Keep the faith.

    Annette in Florida :) (sending you a smile)

  17. #17
    Super Member LindaMRB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    1,143
    Quote Originally Posted by sueisallaboutquilts
    I love most of the block. The plain green seems to throw it off.
    ditto from me

  18. #18
    Super Member lisalovesquilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,659
    Love what you have done so far, but really don't care for the outer border. The fabrics should be bright like the rest. IMHO

  19. #19
    Super Member hobbykat1955's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,723
    Ck out Youtube or utube...for a video on PP...I'm sure there's one out there...I leanred thru the DVD that Carol Doak put out and it really is easy once you see it being done.

  20. #20
    Super Member hobo2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Boonsboro, MD
    Posts
    2,724
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by maggie2122
    You have the yellow and warm colors down pat. Personally, I love the center block. I don't think it has to all be yellow and those flowers scream sunshine to me. But, I would change the two outer colors. I don't like the green or the green floral outside. Since the only other floral is in the center, it seems to take away from it. I would try something in the tan/brown family. Just my opinion, no darts or knives please. I really like the PP.
    Sorry,hit the button too soon. I agree the green captures the eye but not in a good way. Love your ideas for the block. Would love to see the finished block.

  21. #21
    Senior Member Sandi19's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    FL, formerly IL
    Posts
    359
    It's lovely, except for the green. Maybe the color isn't accurate on the computer? Try a different color to replace the green. The rest of the block is very pretty.
    As for PP...I've shed a few tears over my inability to do it. Then one day my husband and I did a block together...he would do anything to have me start his mariners compass. If you have someone with you to figure it out, it helps. I also think you should watch a youtube or tutorial on it. If I can finally do it...so can you! I can't read and do something, I have to have it demonstrated.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.