Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Bel Air 600 sewing machine (1952) - picture heavy

  1. #1
    Senior Member DawnFurlong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    368

    Bel Air 600 sewing machine (1952) - picture heavy

    I am ready to order parts to rewire this machine. I did send an email to Jenny at Sew Classic with a few questions. She responded (very quickly I want to add!) - that these Japanese machines are basically rather generic, so there isn't an exact answer as to which parts will definitely fit. She didn't really think this machine was a clone of a 66 - but it seems most like a 66 than other machines. I am nervous ordering these parts for the first time - so thought I would run it by the experts here on the Vintage forum to see if you believe I am going in the right direction. I am planning on ordering the Motor, light, cord set and controller (package has everything) - http://www.shop.sew-classic.com/Moto...ectrical15.htm While the package does reference the 15's, when I started pulling individual parts - they were the same as what exists in this package. The cord set - that is the set up on my machine in the cabinet. The foot controller will connect to that set up, hence it is in the package. My motor is mounted with a bracket, which looks to be L shaped. The only difference I see is the light. My light has a round bracket that screws in under the round silver plate on the back of the machine. BUT - that light hangs loosey goosey (obviously not original to the machine). I am thinking the light in this kit will work fine. If it doesn't, then I'll figure that out later. I have posted a variety of pictures of my sewing machines. I do not have any pictures of the wiring in the cabinet. But there is a 2 prong box that the light/motor plug into. The long cord from that box is the power cord, comes off to the left. On the right, the cord goes to the mounted foot controller. Looks like the cord set up in the package referenced above. Am I on the right track? Name:  IMAG0184.jpg
Views: 1129
Size:  519.2 KB Name:  IMAG0186.jpg
Views: 1102
Size:  435.1 KB Name:  IMAG0187.jpg
Views: 1126
Size:  777.1 KB Name:  IMAG0189.jpg
Views: 1181
Size:  532.7 KB Name:  IMAG0190.jpg
Views: 1060
Size:  470.4 KB Name:  IMAG0191.jpg
Views: 1052
Size:  460.1 KB Name:  IMAG0192.jpg
Views: 1008
Size:  451.6 KB
    Attached Images Attached Images    
    Last edited by DawnFurlong; 02-23-2012 at 12:54 PM.
    Dawn

  2. #2
    Power Poster miriam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    12,665
    Blog Entries
    2
    Well, it looks a lot more like a 66 than a 15 that is for sure. Very pretty. Did you send Jenny a picture? I just love her.
    NEVER let a sewing machine know you are in a hurry.
    Success is not final. Failure is not fatal. It is the courage to continue that counts. Winston Churchill

  3. #3
    Senior Member DawnFurlong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    368
    Quote Originally Posted by miriam View Post
    Well, it looks a lot more like a 66 than a 15 that is for sure. Very pretty. Did you send Jenny a picture? I just love her.
    No, I didn't. The first email I sent was off of her site and there wasn't an option to send a picture. Didn't end up sending one either from my home account. We emailed back and forth a couple of times, didn't have my phone cord then to upload any pictures. She is very nice and helpful. I didn't want to bother her with emailing once again - but maybe I should. I am kind of guessing the bottom line is it is an educated guess since it is a generic machine.

    How do I get the tape off the bed without harming the paint? It has obviously been on there a long, long time!
    Dawn

  4. #4
    Super Member Charlee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    PNW (I wish it was the Ozarks!)
    Posts
    6,510
    Blog Entries
    6
    Dawn, get a paper towel "wet" with sewing machine oil and press it over the tape and just let it sit for a bit. That tape should come right up.
    Pretty machine!
    One day, you'll only be a memory for some people. Do your best to be a good one.

    http://charleeturner.blogspot.com

  5. #5
    Senior Member DawnFurlong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    368
    Another piece of information. I had another board member who has this machine tell me that she had been told that it looked like a White Clone (more so than a 66). She had posted on a Vintage site. That could make a difference in cords.

    Will do the machine oil over the tape - thanks Charlee!
    Dawn

  6. #6
    Super Member J Miller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    6,869
    Dawn,

    I have your machines twin, only it's badged as a SEWMOR 404.

    It is a combo of the Singer Mdls 66 and 15. The motor mount, the cord block, and the light in the kit you linked to should work.
    Your light and the one on my machine are mounted the same, with a big disc held by the thumb screw at the top. Under the big shiny cover on the back of the machine that covers the light is a slot with a threaded hole just for that light bracket in the kit.
    Mine actually has a chrome plated screw in it even though it has the other type of light mount.

    If there is any confusion about the belt, mine takes the Alphasew 1514 belt:
    http://www.shop.sew-classic.com/Belt...14-SCB1514.htm

    All the screws on my machine are Singer thread, so that should be no problem.

    If you haven't already done so, you'll need to order a spool pin:
    http://www.shop.sew-classic.com/Spoo...ndard-YA-1.htm

    I have redone several of these machines using the parts from Sew-Classic. If you have any real specific questions feel free to PM or email me. Altho from what you have written I'm pretty sure you have a handle on things.

    Joe

  7. #7
    Senior Member DawnFurlong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    368
    Thanks Joe! I guessed right on the spool pin. It felt smooth when I stuck a toothpick down that hole and ran it up the sides. I am assuming I could order the tap in spool pin with the thread guide holes?

    Interestingly, the belt and bobbin tire winder look fairly new. I am going to look at the belt again later (with a flashlight) to be sure I am not missing any cracking or the like. But thank you for the information on which belt yours uses. I hadn't tried to measure mine yet.
    Dawn

  8. #8
    Super Member J Miller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    6,869
    Quote Originally Posted by DawnFurlong View Post
    Thanks Joe! I guessed right on the spool pin. It felt smooth when I stuck a toothpick down that hole and ran it up the sides. I am assuming I could order the tap in spool pin with the thread guide holes?

    Interestingly, the belt and bobbin tire winder look fairly new. I am going to look at the belt again later (with a flashlight) to be sure I am not missing any cracking or the like. But thank you for the information on which belt yours uses. I hadn't tried to measure mine yet.
    Yes, you can order either of the tap in spool pins with the thread guide holes. That's what I did with mine.
    Mine didn't want to stay in even with the encouragement of a hammer. It kept popping out. Not knowing just how hard I could wail on the pin before damaging the machine I put it in my drill motor and used a file to reduce the angle at the tapered end. That seems to have worked. At least it hasn't come out again.

    I mentioned the belt because sometimes when you change motors the spacing isn't the same. And an old belt will be worn and I just figure a new motor deserves a new belt.

    Joe

  9. #9
    Senior Member DawnFurlong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    368
    Quote Originally Posted by J Miller View Post
    Yes, you can order either of the tap in spool pins with the thread guide holes. That's what I did with mine.
    Mine didn't want to stay in even with the encouragement of a hammer. It kept popping out. Not knowing just how hard I could wail on the pin before damaging the machine I put it in my drill motor and used a file to reduce the angle at the tapered end. That seems to have worked. At least it hasn't come out again.

    I mentioned the belt because sometimes when you change motors the spacing isn't the same. And an old belt will be worn and I just figure a new motor deserves a new belt.

    Joe
    Belts are inexpensive - doesn't hurt to be new with everything else. Thought I would ask. My machine says it was made in Occupied Japan (on the gold badge on the front). Is that the same with the Sewmor's?

    I'll have to look, but I vaguely remember seeing a couple of belts in the drawer of the cabinet this machine is mounted in. They were amber colored, not black - but I don't remember seeing the little notches that are on the one you linked too. But - that was a month or so ago, and I didn't spend to much time looking at them, jut stuck them back in the drawer.
    Dawn

  10. #10
    Power Poster miriam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    12,665
    Blog Entries
    2
    Does it need tap in pins or does it take the screw in pins?
    NEVER let a sewing machine know you are in a hurry.
    Success is not final. Failure is not fatal. It is the courage to continue that counts. Winston Churchill

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.