Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Has Anyone Bought and Used the NuWave Induction Cooktop?

  1. #1
    Super Member CAS49OR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,653

    Has Anyone Bought and Used the NuWave Induction Cooktop?

    I've been curious if they work well and if they are worth the expense. They are induction cooktop burners. I've seen some infomercials that make them look fun. I won't post a link here because there is too much marketing on there.

    Also, the buy one get one offer is a joke, by the time you pay shipping/handling for all the "free" stuff it costs a lot!

    I wanted one to keep the kitchen cool and save the effort of cleaning up my gas range. The dumb thing has gray porcelain burners that never look nice! Even when cleaned spot-less they have dark chipped spots. Replacement grates (black) are $100 a piece!
    :-)
    CAS

  2. #2
    Senior Member lildinks2013's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    near memphis tn
    Posts
    675
    Blog Entries
    4
    Yes I have and i have 2 of them. I love them. I didn't get all the free stuff-just the cook tops. I use them all the time and i also make candles which controls the source of heat that i need. Yes you will love them.

  3. #3
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,952
    Blog Entries
    1
    Check the reviews on Amazon; lots of good info there. The biggest complaint I have seen is that the induction part of the burner is smaller than the burner, so only the center area of your pan is being heated even if the pan covers the entire burner. Also, you need to use the correct type of pan. Other than that, I think one would be great for the purposes you cite!

  4. #4
    Senior Member lildinks2013's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    near memphis tn
    Posts
    675
    Blog Entries
    4
    The correct type of pan is magnetic. so if you have a magnet, test it on the bottoms of ur pans and kettles. If it sticks, then its magnetic and will work on the burners.. Dont need to buy all that extra stuff if ur pots n pans are already magnetic. I even use my cast iron cookware on it and its great.

  5. #5
    Senior Member lildinks2013's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    near memphis tn
    Posts
    675
    Blog Entries
    4
    I have a glass top stove with 3 guys who all cook. sometimes guys are not as safe or clean as a woman does, so stains often remain. Im tired of cleaning old stains left on my stove, so i bought these and problem solved. Now i can quilt even more and less time in the kitchen. lol

  6. #6
    Super Member CAS49OR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,653
    Thanks for all the great information!
    :-)
    CAS

  7. #7
    Super Member jitkaau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,117
    I bought something similar made by Highlander brand. It cost me $40 total and has been a good purchase. As said before, carry a magnet with you. If it sticks to the bottom of the pot it is OK to use on the cooker.

  8. #8
    Super Member alleyoop1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    1,346
    My kitchen range has the same black chipped spots. You are right, replacement costs are so high I'd be better off buying a new stove but I hate to discard a working appliance!

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    164
    I have one and gave the second one to my daughter. I agree with everything said above. Use mine all of the time and absolutely love it. I think it was a good buy!
    Jocar1018

  10. #10
    Super Member CAS49OR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,653
    Thanks for the idea. I found this, is it similar to yours?
    http://www.oo.com.au/1800W-Highlande...du_P132055.cfm
    Does it boil water really fast?
    Another thing that annoys me about my gas range is the grates are so far from the flame -- a lot of wasted heat and it takes forever to heat up stuff.


    Quote Originally Posted by jitkaau View Post
    I bought something similar made by Highlander brand. It cost me $40 total and has been a good purchase. As said before, carry a magnet with you. If it sticks to the bottom of the pot it is OK to use on the cooker.
    :-)
    CAS

  11. #11
    Super Member CAS49OR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,653
    I agree. It's the reason I've put off redecorating and buying new appliances. Our builder chose the cheapest Whirlpool appliances he could find. I've had repairs on all three! I have no respect for that brand any more.

    Did you find your oven door handle and vent permanently scorched and brown after using the self-clean option too?

    I'm waiting for my great LG fridge to stop working, then I'll get a new set.

    Quote Originally Posted by alleyoop1 View Post
    My kitchen range has the same black chipped spots. You are right, replacement costs are so high I'd be better off buying a new stove but I hate to discard a working appliance!
    :-)
    CAS

  12. #12
    Super Member jitkaau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,117
    Quote Originally Posted by CAS49OR View Post
    Thanks for the idea. I found this, is it similar to yours?
    http://www.oo.com.au/1800W-Highlande...du_P132055.cfm
    Does it boil water really fast?
    Another thing that annoys me about my gas range is the grates are so far from the flame -- a lot of wasted heat and it takes forever to heat up stuff.
    That is exactly the one that I have. It was selling for $39.95 on the day that my friend's husband brought it to my attention and bought it on my behalf. I'm pleased to have it as my flat does not have a stove or cook top.

  13. #13
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    8,929
    This is news to me......I went to website of highlander...this is an electric one burner unit? So you can only do one
    Pot at a time...I really don't see the practicality of it, but I must be missing the point......

  14. #14
    Super Member donna13350's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    1,054
    I looked into the Nuwave, too...and was appalled by the shipping fees..so I went on Ebay and bought an Aroma brand induction cooktop...I love it! I bought it mainly because I freeze and can a lot..so I thought this would save me time, and it does..Can't rave enough about it!

  15. #15
    Super Member Rann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Valdosta GA
    Posts
    1,963
    I bought them but have never tried them--it seems to be a bad thing I do.
    If you wouldn't write it and sign it, don't say it.

  16. #16
    Super Member donna13350's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    1,054
    Quote Originally Posted by Rann View Post
    I bought them but have never tried them--it seems to be a bad thing I do.
    Why does it seem to be a bad thing to do?

  17. #17
    Super Member CAS49OR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,653
    In this picture it looks like it has a weird plug-in?
    http://www.oo.com.au/1800W-Highlande...du_P132055.cfm


    Quote Originally Posted by jitkaau View Post
    That is exactly the one that I have. It was selling for $39.95 on the day that my friend's husband brought it to my attention and bought it on my behalf. I'm pleased to have it as my flat does not have a stove or cook top.
    :-)
    CAS

  18. #18
    Super Member CAS49OR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,653
    Maybe you want to sell them to me for a great price??

    Quote Originally Posted by Rann View Post
    I bought them but have never tried them--it seems to be a bad thing I do.
    :-)
    CAS

  19. #19
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Central Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,230
    Quote Originally Posted by CAS49OR View Post
    In this picture it looks like it has a weird plug-in?
    http://www.oo.com.au/1800W-Highlande...du_P132055.cfm
    You're right! I don't think you use that plug in the USA. I would think they sell them all over, so would have to have lots of different plugs and wattages on them. I saw one being used in a cookware demo, but she wasn't selling the cook-top so didn't talk much about it.
    Mavita - Square dancer and One Room School Teacher

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.