Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Help with computer and forum, please?

  1. #1
    Senior Member FranW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    625

    Help with computer and forum, please?

    "The connection was reset

    The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.

    The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few moments.
    If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network connection.
    If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure that Firefox is permitted to access the Web."

    Can anyone help? This message keeps popping up whenever I try to access the picture part of the forum. Everything else on my computer is working fine (including all of the other Quilting Board forums). I am at a complete loss as to how to correct this. Thank you all for any help.
    The pictures are one of my favorite parts of this forum!
    Have a happy day,

    Fran

  2. #2
    Power Poster Homespun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    McLoud, OK
    Posts
    12,352
    sorry...no help!
    Retired teacher, loving it.
    Love quilting also.

  3. #3
    shy
    shy is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    186
    is ur Adobe and other graphic programs up to date..they may need up dated..

  4. #4
    Super Member d.rickman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,387
    Try unplugging your rotor for a few minutes, shut down your computer, leave for a couple of minutes, then retart your computer and plug the rotor back in again, this can sometimes help your computer issues, and also make your computer speed somewhat better. Also like Shy -says make certain you have the latest version of the Adobe Reader (free version works well).
    Quilting People are the Best, Have a great sewing day!
    DonnaJ

  5. #5
    Power Poster ManiacQuilter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    18,937
    I have been on Firefox since the incident with Explorer. I am ready to switch to Chrome even tho I dislike Google and want privacy.
    A Good Friend, like an old quilt, is both a Treasure and a Comfort

  6. #6
    Super Member madamekelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Central Willamette Valley, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    7,663
    Blog Entries
    1
    My best suggestion would be one of two things.
    1. Turn the computer completely off, wait five minutes, and turn it back on. Your computer will update anything that needed fixing, and only does this when you turn it off and back on, just like a cell phone.
    2. If you know how, dump the cookies all those websites have put on your computer as you surfed. If you don't know how, find a teenager, they all know...lol!
    If you always do, what you have always done, The results never change. Change is the wings you give yourself.

  7. #7
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    7,223
    Blog Entries
    1
    Sounds to me like you have a very slow internet connection.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    1,195
    Before I start trying to troubleshoot a computer issue, I always restart the computer first. More often than not, this will make the problem go away. If there is still an issue, I would hung the computer and or router to reset it.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    1,195
    The word "hung" should read "unplug". My Kindle Fire "edits" my text as I'm typing.

  10. #10
    Senior Member FranW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    625
    Thank you everyone. Firefox is having some kind of issues with the pop up ads on this site. One of the pop ups triggers the malware alert and firefox shuts the site down. I think I have worked around it but we shall see. Thanks, again!
    Have a happy day,

    Fran

  11. #11
    Super Member madamekelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Central Willamette Valley, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    7,663
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by FranW View Post
    Thank you everyone. Firefox is having some kind of issues with the pop up ads on this site. One of the pop ups triggers the malware alert and firefox shuts the site down. I think I have worked around it but we shall see. Thanks, again!
    Firefox is not the problem. I also use strictly firefox. Firefox is having problems dealing with malware that has been downloaded onto YOUR computer. You need a service call to remove the malware from YOUR computer. Sorry to give you bad news. I hope the rest of your day is better.
    If you always do, what you have always done, The results never change. Change is the wings you give yourself.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.